iPod is invisible since last night - firewire (10.4.6 =(

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by FarSide, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. FarSide macrumors member

    FarSide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    #1
    any clue why my iPod loads its battery but is invisible in iTunes & Finder
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    Is it visible in disk utility? have you tried a different port, a different computer.

    Done the R's of the iPod

    Gone to the iPod 101 site
     
  3. FarSide thread starter macrumors member

    FarSide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    #3
    ok !

    Retry your iPod with a different USB or FireWire port on your computer (please note that the latest iPods can only be synced through USB).

    guess I can't use my fw for my gf iPod mini (usb) - what a ****
     
  4. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #4

    mini or nano. i believe the mini you could use firewire..
     
  5. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #5
    Mini can infact use Firewire, my brother's can at least

    And try a different USB port?
     
  6. Timepass macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    #6
    another opition that people here dont suggest very offen is reboot. Heck I noticed that Mac users quite offen go though all these crazy hoops trying to get something work and it refusing to work. Spending a lot more time messing around with it than a simple restart would of fixed. Heck even when restarting is the answer they spend hours trying to find something else and refusing to do it.

    When the first things dont work always restart the computer and more offen than not it fixes the problem. It could be some little bit of code did not get removed correctly and it still active preventing the ipod from coming in. Restarting removes everything so it will sit it again.

    So try restarting. Chances are your problem was finder glitch last time you removed it and is not going to see it until a full restart (providing you havent done it yet)

    Simple thing to go on is when in doute restart the computer. Restarting a computer is one of the very basic tech support things and should be one of the earily things done when things are not working right. It is one of the basic things to do when a computer is not working correctly. Restart the computer and see if that fixes it.
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #7
    I believe rebooting is one of the R's in the iPod 101 page
     
  8. Timepass macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    #8

    The question is has he done it yet. Mac users seem to refuse to ever consider it for some odd reason. Quite off they have to be slap in the face and force to do it. And then they seem admazed that it worked. I do wonder how offen apple care gets called and the anwser is restart your computer.

    Apple care: "Hello this is Bob speaking"
    User:"X is not working right I have trade x, y and z"
    Apple care:"Ok Restart your mac"
    User"But it not a windows I dont need to restart it"
    Apple Care:"Restart it please and lets see if that fixes the problem"
    User "Ok....."
    *Reboot*****
    User"Oh it is fixed thank you"
    Apple care"You are welcome have a nice day"
    (All the while the apple care tech support guy is thinking. Why are people such idoits dont they know rebooting is one of basic things to try before calling us...............At least I dont have to deal with dell tech support calls
     
  9. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #9
    First thing i do is reboot in 90% of my tiny issues :/ weird
     
  10. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a

    Nickygoat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #10
    I had the same problem with my iPod - it would charge but wouldn't mount. I knew none of my ports were broken.
    It turned out to be a faulty FireWire cable. If you can, try a different cable.
    A damaged, as opposed to broken, cable will still charge but won't let the iPod mount.
    Worth a try anyway.
     
  11. FarSide thread starter macrumors member

    FarSide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    #11
    thx - i check cable tommorrow!!! reboot didnt help
     
  12. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #12
    Have you reset the iPod?

    Have you looked at disk utility to see if that program actually recognizes it
     

Share This Page