ipod mini issue

Discussion in 'iPod' started by skipperchong, Apr 25, 2005.

  1. skipperchong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #1
    So, a week ago I got a ipod mini -- 2g 6 gig silver -- I've had reservations about audio quality due to compression for some time. I began loading it up with music to take to the gym and to work. Every now and again, I would notice a skip or a pause in the music. From day one. On mp3s that played fine on iTunes. I even opened the files in Peak and found no gaps in the files.

    A fair number of these mp3s were collected on a Windows machine -- CDs ripped through CDEX -- but now reside on my firewire external drive. The id3 tags are sporadic. And the file names can be pretty long. Would this cause playback problems?

    I have soft-reset my ipod (multiple times) and reinstalled the firmware (twice). I loaded up mp3s that I have rendered from CDs on my iMac through iTunes 4.71. And the gaps still occur. Usually two at the beginning of the song and one right in the middle. But not consistently. And not even on the same file.

    I don't run with it. Or exercise much. It operates mostly in my truck. Or on my desk. No shaking or jostling. It's not after 20 minutes. I'm not sure what's up.

    Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm planning a trip to the Apple Store this week. And since it's within the 14 day period, I should be fine though I did get AppleCare.

    Help.

    ps now I have to be honest, two days ago I dropped my ipod mini. It was a few feet, it slipped out of my bag when I was getting into my truck onto a parking garage floor. Without my Speck case -- they weren't instock at the Apple store. And so there're a few dents in the case. If I take it back to the Apple store, will they be all, Um. You dropped it. That's why it's broken.

    Thanks.
     
  2. russed macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    well what you have described doesnt soud right at all and neither of my 2 ipods have ever done that. i would try taking it back to the apple store and just basically say that it was happening before hand. they may be nice, they may be not! but you have nothing to loose in trying taking it back and plenty to gain!
     
  3. skipperchong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  4. skipperchong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    update

    I went to the apple store. A girl listened to my ipod and heard the skipping -- twice or more at the beginning of the track and once or more in the middle. I was afraid that they wouldn't hear anything and be all, Um, your ipod is fine. Freak.

    She reset my ipod -- deleting all the files -- and put on their own mp3s. After 43 songs she wasn't able to replicate the skipping. Thus, she surmised it must be the files, not the hardware. I didn't want to pay the re-stocking fee so I went home with a reset ipod.

    My questions:

    * Is there an issue with mp3s ripped on a PC? I used the Lame codex on cdex, a solid cd ripper.
    *Is there an issue with keeping mp3s on a firewire drive? My iTunes folder is on my Mac formatted firewire drive.

    I am currently in the process of using Audion to re-encode my mp3s, some even from my own CDs, rendered on my Mac through iTunes 4.71.

    Any suggestions?
     
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #5
    no solution here but sometimes (like once every couple of days, and i play my 'pod at least 3 hours a day) a song will jump forward a second. ill note when it happens next to see if its songs ripped years ago on my windows PC.
     
  6. skipperchong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    solved!

    so, I went back to the apple store on the 14 day after my purchase and got a new one. I exchanged a gray one for the wasabi green one and so far works fine, even with audio files not reencoded.

    problem solved.
     

Share This Page