ipod mounting problems....

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by saunders45, Aug 5, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    saunders45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    #1
    I ahve a refurb 3g 10gb ipod i bought in may. Recently it has been acting up. Battery won't hold a charge, and resets automatically sometimes. Today when i went to update it on my mac, it wont even mount. All I get is an error saying that there are no volumes that mac osX can read. I've used reset it, my mac, used disk utility (which said that there was an invalid b-tree node), and when i went to use disk warrior, it said that the valoume wrapper was messed up and then it would quit. Any of you guys have similar problems?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    SC
    #2
    I have a 3g 30gig. When it first came in, it wasn't charged at all. I tried to hook it up to my Mac and let it charge via Firewire, and I got these same exact errors. I had to plug it into the wall for an hour or so and then it would mount fine. Since you have had some problems with the battery, this may be your problem. Charge it via the wall socket for an hour or so and then hook it to your computer. Hopefully it will mount.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    when u plug it in, does it charge and not show up or does it not even charge the battery. and does it say do not disconnect ?
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Just cheking on something--do you have an iSight? If so, unplug it and watch your iPod's problems go away.

    If no iSight, then restore your iPod using the iPod Updater. If that fails then zap PRAM and reset firmware on the Mac.

    Do you by chance unplug the iPod a lot without unmounting it first?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    upperblue79

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #5
    Follow these directions and see if that might fix it. It is a good way to restore your ipod if it isn't mounting correctly for you.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    saunders45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    #6
    No i don't have an isight. No i didn't unplug it without unmounting it. t won't mount on any mac, not just 1. Yes, the battery was fully charged before I plugged it in. But it doesn't matter. Im sending it back to apple. it's still under warranty as I bought it in May.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    had the same problem, could be the cable or the connecters either way .. try 'blowing' in the connectors get out dust or w.e could be there, and straighten out the cable..

    ne wase i know u sent it back but it probablly wasnt a big problem so if it ever happens again
     

Share This Page