iPod RAID?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by codycartoon, Aug 2, 2003.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    #1
    i was thinking about this today...but i dont have 2(or 3 or 4) iPods.... i was wondering could you set up Raid on a few iPods? and if so why?

    thanks
    -Socrates
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #2
    Re: iPod RAID?

    i think the real question is...why would you even wonder this, or care? it sounds like a horrible idea. you wouldn't be able to use any ipod independently if you did manage to succeed in raiding them together.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    #3
    Re: Re: iPod RAID?

    :(
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #4
    i didn't mean to offend you...if i did, my apologies...
     
  5. macrumors regular

    pretentious

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    "Reality"
    #5
    I think it would be one kick-ass geek thing to do, just like the guy w/ the USB Floppy drive RAID.

    So who has several iPods and a Firewire hub to put to this to the test? Can we RAID the iPod?
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #6
    i have 2 here, probably will have access to a third next week when my sister buys one with her new iBook, she's the 4th person i've "switched". i have an original 5Gig, a new 10 Gig, and my sister will probably buy a new 10 Gig as well. the new Pods don't have a standard FireWire connection. will this pose a problem? i'm willing to give it a shot. what do i need to do?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    yea, it's a regular firewire connection, it just has a dock connecter on the pod instead of a firewire port, but the cable converts it to firewire
     
  8. acj
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    #8
    Sometimes kick-ass geek things end up in usefull inovation.

    Though the floppy RAID was only good for geek factor...
     
  9. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #9
    I for one would be interested in hearing the results. I don't see why it wouldn't work; iPods are treated exactly as (IDE?) drives with a Firewire bridge, which is to say software RAID shouldn't be able to tell them apart from normal drives. I suppose the biggest difficulty might be the fact that iPods come in so many sizes, and you'd ideally want all the same size for the test... But i think most RAIDs can be accomplished with disks of different sizes, it's just a tad more difficult...

    pnw
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    #10
    he he i was just kidding

    some glitches i see in it...if you do have 2 iPods and you set up a raid with them i think you will only be able to use them as really expensive firewire HDs...i think what RAID does is deals the bytes at the same time...doubling the speed...but i am not sure...i am waiting for someone to try it...

    -cody
     
  11. macrumors regular

    pretentious

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    "Reality"
    #11
    Yea it would be just a expensive FW HD, and I think that that is our biggest hurdle right now...but come on it would be RAID iPods! Who else can see a 300 post Slashdot story coming from this? :D
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #12
    Damn, and just the other day on eBay there was a guy auctioning off 50 refurbished 10GB iPods as one lot. Those would have been perfect for doing this considering you could find a hub to deal with this many firewire connections.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    e-coli

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    #13
    It would be the most expensive RAID system in history per GB.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #14
    can someone just tell me what i need to do? i only have 3 iPods now. maybe someone with a few more would rather do it. or maybe someone here in NYC would like to pool our resources and we could collaborate. do i just buy a FireWire hub and connect them all and then do the RAID in Disk Utility?
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #15
    If you accomplish this feat please post some pics!
     
  16. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    #16
    *WARNING*
    if you do decide to do this you could lose all the data on your iPods and or damage them

    1. Buy a firewire hub and connect more than 2 iPods to your mac
    2. insert the OS X install CD and restart your computer. Press the "C" key as it is starting up, this will boot from the disk.
    3. When you get to the install menu don't install! But open disk utility.
    4. Disk utility should display multiple iPods. Click the RAID tab and drag all the iPod icons into the blank box.
    5. Click configure and cross your fingers
    *past this point i don't know what to expect*
    6. Quit the installer and restart

    :) good luck

    I am very interested on how this will turn out...can't wait to see some pictures....

    are those instructions right?

    good luck!
    -cody
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #17
    ok, that sounds easy enough. now i'm getting cold feet though. losing all the data off the iPods is one thing, but actually rendering them unusable is another. what are the chances i'll destroy these Pods beyond repair? and once i'm done with this little experimenti will be able to reinstall the iPod software and use it again, right? i don't want to ruin my girlfriend and sister's iPods for the sake of being a geek. any more info would be great.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Schiffi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    Missouri
    #18
    formatting your iPod via disk utility will ruin it. I heard an Apple store person advised someone to not format your iPod via Disk Utility.
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #19
    well that settles that then. sorry everybody, i will NOT be doing this anytime soon. oh well. thank you for the warning Schiffi!
     
  20. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
  21. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    #21
  22. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #22
    sorry, but i see no point in this. unless if he finds a way to hack the iPod OS to do whatever we want, and not void th warranty, or possibly damage the iPod ;)
     
  23. mim
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    flesh, melbourne.... heart, london
    #23
    Well it will erase all your data (music or otherwise), but ruin it?

    Just format it again afterwards and run the firmware updater on it - should be as good as new (better even!). I've swapped mine between PC & Mac formats a number of times with no ill effects. Striping for a raid won't be any different.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    Don't burn out the iPod

    I think it is the book called 'iLife' or something like that, can't remember but it does say something about the iPod not being able to last for long periods of time as a hard disk because of something. Personally this sounds like rubbish - but it could be true/useful.
     
  25. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #25
    well, my iPod does get hot whenever i keep it pluggde into the computer as a hard drive. that's why i take it out of the case and put it in the dock
    i oot into panther off of it and it gets realy hot.
     

Share This Page