Ipod Randomly Pauses

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Caramel, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #1
    My 'fairly' new iPOd 4g randomly pauses in the middle of songs. .. . I'll be walking to class and i'll have it in my pocked (yes its locked don't even think i'm that dumb) and it will pause. So i unlock it and hit play, lock it and put it back in my pocket. *PAUSE* so then i 'restart' it, and its fine, and then a few days later it will act up again. I've also noticed that it does it when its uplocked and sitting on the desk and i pick it up, and it pauses...

    does anyone else have this problem or is my iPod taken on a mind of its own?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    I've got a 4G too.

    I get the same problem sometimes when I take it running. It freezes on a song for up to about ten minutes and it usually needs a restart. I don't think it likes getting knocked around. More specifically, it has a buffer and it writes to this buffer when it can (it knows the songs you'll be listening to for the next x minutes) but if you go and surprise it by selecting a song that wasn't on the buffer while the hard drive is getting jerked around, it'll almost always screw up. :(

    Another thing to watch for is if the headphones jump out, it'll automatically pause itself.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Cloud 9 (-6)
    #3
    I too have a 4g 30Gb iPod Photo and it has done the same on a few occasions. I had it hooked up to a stereo and had it set on the tv between the two main floor speakers. After perhaps 15 minutes of playing it randomly paused. I went over, saw nothing wrong, checked the cable (still seated) and hit play. A few minutes later, perhaps only 2 or 3, the same pause.

    I felt the top of the tv and since the floor speakers were blarring and the tv between them, there was quite a vibration at the top of the tele which I assume ran out the buffer and caused it to pause. Perhaps my assumption is wrong, but that is what I blame the pause on.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    efoto, unless you listen to incredibly loud and bouncy music I really don't think sitting it on a table should crash it. Maybe take it into your local Apple store and get them to check it out, you might get a replacement out of this.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Cloud 9 (-6)
    #5
    Well thankfully that usually does not happen. We were moving out of our apartment and since we were each in our rooms, and the big stereo was in the living quarters, the music was extremely loud. I have had it atop a tv and even a speaker at home and it is fine.

    I think that the occasion when moving out of the apartment was a special one *knock on wood*. If it happens again atop a desk or table where it just randomly happens and its not the headphone cable, I will definitely bring it in.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    #6
    My 4g IPOD does the same thing. When you pull the plug out of the head phone jack, it pauses the IPOD. My thought is that this is wearing out and causing the IPOD to pause randomly. It drives me friggin nuts. Does anyone know if there is a way to disable this feature?
     
  7. emw
    macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #7
    Wow, I had the same problem on the plane back from Raleigh on Friday. All of a sudden, my iPod was pausing randomly on a couple of songs. At first, I thought it was the headphones being lose, but I jiggled and nothing paused. So I then assumed a problem with the song file or something, but it happened on more than one song. A bug?
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    There's no way to disable the feature.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    This is definitely a bug. I remember the same bug existing in my 3G iPod back when I originally bought it, but since then with the few updates that have happened, all is well and it doesn't pause randomly. If enough people complain or demand a replacement iPod because of the bug, Apple will fix it.

    Or it could be a bug in the latest iPod update, which is a good possibility, and if it bugs you enough, you should revert back to the last update and ditch the new one.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #10
    Hmm, I guess I have the opposite problem. The headphone detect function on my 60G photo has worked exactly once that I know of. Now it thinks the headphones are always in, so it never pauses when I take them out. Running the diagnostic mode with nothing in the jack gives a result that it thinks something's connected. I suppose one of these days I'll take it to the Apple Store to see about getting it fixed, as it's a totally demonstrable defect...

    Just as long as fixing it doesn't cause this pause problem to crop up! :eek: ;)
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    This is a common problem if your headphone jack for your earbuds/headphones/earphones is gold plated. If it's silver, you shouldn't be having problems. Gold jacks can have contact problems.

    A crude but effective fix is to poke the headphone jack through a film of plastic or tape, so that the extruding plug is through the tape, but the ring around the plug is behind the tape and does not come in contact with the iPod's headphone jack.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #12
    Some headphone jacks don't fit the iPod too well, and sometimes the iPod thinks the headphones have been removed when they haven't. There is a workaround if you have the sport case for the iPod shuffle. This comes with a 4 inch extension lead which does provide a close fit for the iPod. Using that between the iPod and the headphones can often fix this problem.

    However I do wish they'd make this pause on removal feature optional; I find it is more trouble than it's worth.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Location:
    St. Paul
    #13
    My iPod is doing this too. But not with the apple earbuds, only with some headphones I just bought. The weird part is if I wiggle the cord a bit it pauses like it thinks they were disconnected or something but if I pull the cord halfway out it doesn't pause, so it's not like it's just right on the threshold between connected and not. So is this a problem with the headphone? Any ideas? (The iPod is a 30GB Photo and the headphones are Maxell HP/NC-II)
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #14
    Had the same exact problem in my car. I have an Aux Input into my stereo that plugs into my ipod. I WAS using a RadioShack cable to do this. I changed it out for a belkin cable and everything is peachy again.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Location:
    St. Paul
    #15
    Does anyone have any ideas my my iPod (30GB Photo) would pause like the headphones are disconnected when the cord is wiggled? It doesn't pause when I'm pulling it out until it's pretty mucht he whole way out, so it doesn't seem like a loose connection. Also it's not with my apple earbuds it's with a some other headphones. Any ideas? It's quite bothersome.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #16
    Astral Cars-
    I am having the same problem with my ipod mini when using my sennheiser earphones. While using it, it suddenly pauses.It also pauses when I wiggle the cord but the ipod does not pause when I remove the cord. I find this really disturbing also. Any ideas?
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    fennario
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Location:
    St. Paul
    #18
    I'm planning on returning my headphones, but what I'm not sure about is whether I'm going to have to same problem if I buy the same kind again. Is it specifically this pair causing the problem or would it be any of this kind? I'm rather sure it's not the iPod because it doesn't do it with the apple headphones.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #19
    I have a 6GB ipod and my beloved Sennheiser PX200s, and the pausing problems happens to me at least 8 times an album.

    It's horrible. The auto-pause is the worst feature EVER invented in the history of mankind. And that includes SPAMwich and the crazy frog ringtone.

    I wonder if the nano will have the same problem... does it classify as 4G?
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    DC
    #20
    My 20GB has the same problem.....

    ..... but I don't think it's the headphones.
    My iPod pauses whether I use Apple headphones or not and even their own cables! It pauses with my iTrip, the Apple cable when it's hooked up to my stereo and even with my Apple headphones.
    I think there's a glitch somewhere and it's really annoying. Has anyone found a solution that has worked?
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    Yeah... I bought a nano and it doesn't happen! Hurrah.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #22
    I notice that on the nano the headphone jack is a tighter fit than the other iPods I have used (may just be my unit of course), so hopefully this won't happen with 3rd party phones.

    I still wish you could switch off the auto-pause feature though.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    DC
    #23
    Don't celebrate just yet...

    ... mine didn't start pausing until after about 6 months to a year.
    Hopefully they have fixed the problem though. It would be nice to know that they are figuring out solutions to their glitches.
     

Share This Page