iPod reset

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by TyleRomeo, Mar 22, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Anyone know another way besides holding down menu and play/pause to reset the ipod on a 3rd gen. MY mac isn't reading it and i just want to erase and start over with it.

    Tyler
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #2
    Yup... Do the same thing with the iPod plugged into the AC adaptor... That will force a hard reset.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    tried that and the thing still just goes to a picture of a folder and and an ! in a triangle. Isn't there something to press with the scroll wheel or center button.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #4
    Well... I think it might be time to call Apple or take your iPod to the Apple store. It sounds like you have bigger problems than what you can fix. I think you might have a hardware problem. :(
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #5
    I had a similar problem, where my iPod (4th gen) was not working. The absolute key is that you MUST have your OS recognize it first. If OSX doesn't see it, the adapter won't be able to either.

    When I finally got it to work, I ran iPod updater - I told it I wanted to do "Restore". Then, after a few moments, it told me to plug it into the AC Adapter. Then, and only then, will the adapter be able to perform a factory reset (or "restore").
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    yeah the ipod just clicks when its tries to start up. Hard clicks then it gives up. The OS won't recognize it and I don't know of any other hard restart besides holding menu and play/pause. I know that there is another one that involves the scroll wheel but i can't get it work. this sucks a 40GB 3rd gen dead after a year and a half.
     

Share This Page