iPod touch and iPod classic connected?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by deboni, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. deboni
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    deboni

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    #1
    Since the iPod Touch runs OS X, does it have a full version of iTunes? If so, could one hook a larger iPod (say an 80 or 160 GB model) to it and direct the Touch's iTunes to use the library on the larger disk-based device? This would be a useful hack.

    Tom DeBoni
     
  2. robPOD
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    NZ
  3. fredsherbet
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hertford, England
    #3
    does it have an itunesy interface for playing back music (e.g. can you add tracks to playlists, modify smart playlists etc)?
     
  4. nlivo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #4
    you guys dont know much about the iPod touch, do you? just go to the apple website and have a little look around.
     
  5. feelthefire
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    #5
    Even if it did run full OSX (and it doesn't) the touch doesn't have the ability to act as a host/ controller so it can't access an attached drive. Doesn't have anything to do with itunes and has everything to do with the hardware configuration.
     
  6. MacBass
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    MacBass

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    #6
    In addition, you would need to track down a 30-pin to 30-pin dock connector cable, or solder your own.

    And no, the iPod touch is not running a full version of OS X. A watered down version, yes.
     
  7. Quiara
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Quiara

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007

Share This Page