iPod touch and iPod classic connected?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by deboni, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    deboni

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    #1
    Since the iPod Touch runs OS X, does it have a full version of iTunes? If so, could one hook a larger iPod (say an 80 or 160 GB model) to it and direct the Touch's iTunes to use the library on the larger disk-based device? This would be a useful hack.

    Tom DeBoni
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    NZ
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hertford, England
    #3
    does it have an itunesy interface for playing back music (e.g. can you add tracks to playlists, modify smart playlists etc)?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #4
    you guys dont know much about the iPod touch, do you? just go to the apple website and have a little look around.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    #5
    Even if it did run full OSX (and it doesn't) the touch doesn't have the ability to act as a host/ controller so it can't access an attached drive. Doesn't have anything to do with itunes and has everything to do with the hardware configuration.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    MacBass

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    #6
    In addition, you would need to track down a 30-pin to 30-pin dock connector cable, or solder your own.

    And no, the iPod touch is not running a full version of OS X. A watered down version, yes.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Quiara

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007

Share This Page