iPod Touch home button broken

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by deriko100, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    my ipod touchs home button broke it wont go back up and it wont work what should i do :confused:
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #2
    Hold down home and power buttons, see if your iPod force quits. Try to turn back on and see what happens then. If it still doesn't work, schedule an appointment with a Mac Genius at a Apple Store near you to have the ipod replaced.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    my home button doesnt work it is broken
     
  4. macrumors regular

    asskick3r

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    "Somewhere ... In las vegas"
    #4
    If it's jailbroken... then I don't know man.
    Maybe download Ziphone a use that to boot the ipod in recovery/dfu mode.
    And then take it to an apple store.
    Good luck.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #5
    I get the opinion you didnt try the advice of holding home and sleep button...
    The button might only appear to not work until you restart your iPod, so it's worth a try isn't it?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Pixellated

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Dartford, UK
    #6
    Take it to the store. How do you treat your iPod touch? I've had two iPhones and they're fine.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    i treat it good i got an appoinment on monday
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    the button doesnt spring up its broken
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    alexbates

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #9
    UGH! The same thing happened to me today. I have noticed recently that my iPod home button has to be pressed harder for it to work. Now it has just completely stopped working.

    What if mine is not covered under warranty? (1st Gen iPod Touch) Will Apple still do anything maybe at a reasonable price? I have always treated this thing like a baby so I dont see how it just stops working (never dropped it, always kept it in a case so it doesnt have a scratch)
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    alexbates

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #10
    Any ideas?
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #11
    Well actually about a year ago I had a broken iPod nano and on their website they charged I think $99+tax to fix any iPod or problem.
    They send you a prepaid box that you put the iPod in and send it to them and they either fix it or replace it for you.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #12
    my iphones home button wont work . :( is it possible to change the settings so you dont have to use the home button?
     
  13. macrumors member

    Mr.Goodbar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    pahrump nv
    #13
    I don't believe so but you should be fine after the "genius" looks after it lol.:p
     
  14. Kitarii, Jul 16, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #14
    If you are willing to jailbreak your ipod then I have a solution, which works even if your button is already broken. I wrote a guide about it this morning because I have had this problem for months and don't want people to suffer as I have. :p

    *click!*
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sault Ste. Marie
    #15
    This worked with my 1st gen iPod Touch with a broken home button and not yet jailbroken... I did a lot leg work to find something that worked. Just follow this guys instructions then install SBSettings (it's like an app) thru Cydia (which will be installed after you follow the vid) then thru SBSettings (SBSettings Setup - SetToggles) you activate the home button feature... Now this whole process takes a while but anyone with a bit of free time shouldn't have a problem. I think the longest part was re-installing everything back onto my 32Gig pod

    Hope this helps!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3t8AJ4ESzL0#at=304
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    #16
    Thank you my iPods home button works great now :)
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    #17
    You should take it to store
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #18
    cant fix it but i can help!

    follow these insrtuctions
    1.go to settings
    2.go to general
    3.scroll to bottom and click accessibility
    4.then scroll to bottom again
    5.click assitive touch
    6.turn it on

    you should have a little button on your screen it will look like..
    the size of an app and like the home button
    u can move it around and click it. it will give you the options to
    go home
    voice control
    device
    faves
    then you can use it to go to your home :)
    it wont fix your button but ittl help till you can take it to apple :) i had to use it forever >:) i call it da handitard button >:) lol
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #19
    1. This thread was made in 2008, there was no assitive touch at the time.
    2. You bumped a 1 year old thread....
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    #20
    Oh, yah, the only thing I can think of is going to the apple store and asking them to fix it or recommend someone who can.

    ----------

    But, for iPhones there is a glitch that makes it so that you're iPhone will not lock. (It will still lock on its own if you have it set that way, if you do not, then set it that way!!) So yah the lock button does not work when that glitch strikes your iPhone. It may not, but I think eventually it will. Many people that I know that have iPhones have experienced that glitch, including my brother. And it doesn't get fixed unless you take it to apple to fix it.
     

Share This Page