Ipod touch plus iBook G4 = no go.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by missigirisu, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #1
    Hey,

    I have an old iBook G4, OS X 10.4.9. I am happy with my mac, it works well and it nice. Then, I went and bought an ipod touch. I plugged it in and it said that it can't work with my OS. I have Power PC, not Intel, so am I able to get plain Leopard? When I click on the update button in the apple menu, it says that there are no updates available.

    What should I do? I really resent spending out for a newer macbook when this one is fine as it is.

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #2
    Whats the processor speed on that iBook? If its faster than about 1GHz and has about 1GB of RAM, itll run Leo pretty well.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #3
    You only need 10.4.11
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #4
    Apparently I have 1.2 GHz. About memory, I think I'm ok with that. What's Leo and how do I get it?

    And to the second kind reply, Yes, I know I only need a little update. But it's getting that update that's the problem. If I can download it then yey. But the Mac shop advised me to buy a new one (like I knew they would).
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    I also have an ibook g4 (and only 512 mb ram :eek:) and I finally upgraded to leopard a few months ago. I've been happy with the update :) My computer seems to be running it fine and it's working perfectly with my touch and iphone. I bought mine off of a seller on amazon, it was cheaper.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #6
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #7
  8. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #8
    Oh! I'm out of ideas then.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    instaxgirl

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #9
    I've got an iBook G4 1.33Ghz which runs Leopard pretty much like it did Tiger. No problems with iPhones or the Touch.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #10
    edit: Are you sure you don't have 10.3.9?

    Try this one:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL170?viewlocale=en_US

    It'll work better than the one in the attached picture.

    You need to install 10.4.10 first with the update quoted, see the requirement at the right.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #11
    I have a emac and it works on it fine.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #12
    I think you have 10.3.9 as that is why itunes wont snyc with that ipod. It wont work with me, as its to old, and thats on a g4 agp power mac, but its running 10.5 server know XD
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #13

    Whoops sorry you're right it is 10.3.9.

    So what should I do? I'll go on the link posted above right now.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #14
    Thanks, am downloading it now, but I think I have tried this before too. How do I install it when I only have 10.3.9?
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #15
    If you are on 10.3.9, you will have acquire a copy of 10.4 (Tiger) or 10.5 (Leopard). They aren't sold at Apple Stores anymore. But Leopard was only recently discontinued so you might be able to find that still on sale somewhere. Or else, see if you can buy secondhand.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #16
    I'm looking online and I can get Tiger 10.4 for about $30 dollars (I'm in Japan, so that's just an estimate). So I should just buy one of those?
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #17
    That will solve the problem.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #18
  19. macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #19
    Your iBook has a PowerPC G4 processor, and Tiger will work on it OR an Intel processor. So you should be okay. Note, however, that you may want to consider getting Leopard (10.5) instead of Tiger (10.4). Soon, Apple will stop supporting Tiger altogether, seeing as it came out almost five years ago.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #20
    But leopard is about 3 times the price because no one wants Tiger. All I want is to be able to use my ipod. When the time comes that I want more, I'll just buy a new mac.
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #21
    Fair enough. Tiger it is then, it should work just fine on your iBook.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #22
    Hey guys, me again.

    I bought the disk as I said, put it into my notebook and the whole thing crashed. The back screen said "you have to reset your computer" and the forescreen had a load of technical language, with the word "panic" more than once!!

    I phoned mac and the woman helped me get out of the black screen of death and to eject the disk but she said that I'd have to send my notebook in.

    Anyone know why I coulnd't do it? I'm looking at buying a new (but used) Mac now I think.
     
  23. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #23
    leopard would be slower on his machine than tiger from my experience with a 1ghz emac

    as far as apple support, the op has been living with 10.3 lol
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #24
    Very strange. It shouldn't just crash like that. I have only a few theories:

    First, how does the Tiger disc look? Does it look like this?

    [​IMG]

    or does it look like this?

    [​IMG]

    If it looks like the one in the first picture then its a retail CD and it should work just fine. If its all gray like in the 2nd that means that copy of OS X came with a specific Mac computer (possibly an intel model in your case), and won't load on your system.

    Does your ibook still work and only crash when you try to install it from the CD, or does it not work at all now?
     
  25. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #25

Share This Page