iPod Touch power button stuck

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Drew017, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #1
    For some reason (and I can't imagine why) the power button on my iPod touch (4g) is broken. It just won't move, so I can't press it down. It feels like it's stuck down, but the iPod works fine if I wake it by pressing the Home button, and all other buttons work fine. What should/ can I do? Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #2
    I've been seeing this issue a lot in iPhones recently. It's a faulty power button, the same thing has happened to me and two other people I know except on an iPhone. If the iPod is still in warranty, call Apple or go to an Apple Store and they'll replace it. If it's out of warranty, they'll tell you they can't replace it, but if you put up a bit of a fight or talk to the right person the first time around you should still be able to get it replaced without having to pay for a new one.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #3
    It went out of warranty in December, so it's not too far out, but I guess I can ask my cousin, who is a mobile specialist at the Apple Store close to me what I can do. The iPod is over a year old and this just happened yesterday. I wonder why though :confused:
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #4
    Since is not that far out of its warranty they might be able to replace it without a hassle. I'm not sure why they go bad for no reason, but like I said, I have been seeing this issue more and more on MR recently.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #5
    I fix iphones and ipods, and I see this alot. You have to know how to solder to replace the cable as it is soldered directly to the board.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #6
    I'm pretty sure that my iPod is faulty as well, because its really slow all the time and sometimes the screen doesn't come on when the power button is pressed (or at least used to) it just flickers once.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Slowness is caused by the software. Maybe try to restore? Also with the power button turning on the screen for a split second sometimes happens to me. I don't really worry about it much.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #8
    I've done many restores and resets with no results :/
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    Jailbroken? What kind of apps are you running? My iPod touch 4 on iOS 6 runs pretty smooth with the occasional slowdown when running intensive apps.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #10
    Nope, not jailbroken. I only run a few apps regularly (mainly Safari, Music, Mail, Reminders, Notes, Facebook, maybe a few games here or there… but I usually only keep one or two apps running a time) And iOS 6 is great, but my iPod for some reason is just slow… though maybe a bit faster than it was on iOS 5, but still slow.
     
  11. xcodeaddict, Mar 27, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    xcodeaddict

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #11
    I just replaced one of these yesterday, along with a brand new screen (£18, "A grade" screen, none of this cheap rubbish!). I bought the iPod Touch 4th gen for £50 with a cracked screen, and when I disassembled it to replace the screen, I tore off the volume (+) (-) / Power ribbon cable, so had to buy and fit a brand new assembly for that too (£2.40).

    They're certainly fiddly to fix, but not impossible, and very well made. The power button has a solid die cast metal plate behind it (very thick) and you simply peel the old tactile dome and ribbon ass'y from it, scrape and clean the glue off, peel the ribbon right back off the inside back casing, unscrew the volume control casing, remove that, then peel off the old volume control ass'y (it's on the other end of the same ass'y, as shown in the packet on the right hand photo), and fit a new one, which is affixed with VERY strong 3M backing.

    The reason I did this, is because Apple wanted £82 to "repair" (replace) it for me, which, on top of the £50 I paid for it broken, was ridiculous, and why pay them £82 for an out of warranty "repair", when I can do the whole lot for ~£21 myself?

    :) It's working superbly now.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #12
    Wow I had no idea that there was that much to it! I think I won't worry about the power button (I put the assistive touch on, so I can lock the screen). I'll just get a new iPod (my cousin works at apple and can get me a 25% discount off :eek: :D)
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    #13
    That's because a glitch that can not be fixed had hit your product. (It can be fixed but only through apple and people like them, but you can not fix it)
     

Share This Page