iPod Touch User-Agent

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by DOT-POD, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    #1
    Hi all,

    I urgently ( for reasons to be explained shortly ) need to know the User-Agent for the iPod Touch.

    If you are able to discover the User-Agent yourself then great or feel free or please access the following url which will display your user-agent in your iPod Touch browser:

    http://music.dottunes.net/agent.php

    Thanks

    Jeff
    http://www.dottunes.net
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #2
    It's:

    Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3A101a Safari/419.3
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    #3
    Fantastic - thanks very much.

    Please forgive me for asking but is this certainly accurate or a guess based on the iPhone Agent?

    Thanks for your help rorschach - I'll have a present for you within about a week :)

    Cheers

    Jeff
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #4
    Just went to http://www.useragentstring.com/ on my Touch :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    #5
    Thanks for confirming :)
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #6
    and the explanation?? *curious*
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Temecula, CA
    #7
    The string is....

    Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3A100a Safari/419.3

    -Al, www.iTouchMap.com
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    sblasl

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    Heber Springs, AR
    #8
    It will probably become part of his signature like so many others that think we care.
    :rolleyes:
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #9
    He will probably clone that user agent into his browser to test functionality on sites he visits often...
     

Share This Page