IR Remote on PowerMac G5 ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by zerolight, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. zerolight macrumors 6502

    zerolight

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
    Is it possible to run an IR remote on my PowerMac G5? I have it connected to my desktop monitor via one DVI and to my flat panel TV with the other. Also have the optical ouput feeding the TV too. What it's missing is a remote to allow me to control iTunes, QuickTime, DVD Player, and VLC Media Player.
     
  2. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
  3. menziep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #3
    Yes it is possible

    If u want all the things in one place (like Front Row)

    Then u may what to check out the below link (the program is compatible with lots of remotes so have a look and the program is FREE)


    Link

    http://www.equinux.com/us/products/mediacentral/index.html


    Hope This Helps
     
  4. macOSX-tastic macrumors 6502a

    macOSX-tastic

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    At the Airport. UK
    #4
    i use Airclick, and it's one of the best inventions ever! i use i for iTunes, DVD player and VLC most of the time, but it is also available for powerpoint, keynote, radioshark, and quicktime. you have to select it via the icon on the desktop bar, but i dont find that much of a problem.

    i sometimes wish that apple had gone RF, so then we could all use frontrow:(

    then i realise the harsh reality: apple want people to buy new macs. thats business:(

    S
     
  5. zerolight thread starter macrumors 6502

    zerolight

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #5
    Cheers guys. I'll pick up an Air Click at some point. :)
     

Share This Page