is 4gb of ram worth it??

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by unisuit, Sep 10, 2006.

  1. unisuit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Location:
    los angeles
    #1
    i currently have 2gb of ram in my 2ghz g5 dual core. i use a lot of heavy software (maya, photoshop, illustrator, final cut pro, etc.), oftentimes simultaneously. just wondering if upgrading to 4gb will give me a noticable performance boost.

    thanks
     
  2. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    When you have these programs open, open up Activity Monitor and tell us how much free RAM you have.
     
  3. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
  4. unisuit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Location:
    los angeles
    #4
    with relatively large files open in illustrator, photoshop, final cut pro, and only maya application open i have about 25mb of memory available. 1.97gb of 2gb used.
     
  5. unisuit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Location:
    los angeles
  6. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    Yes, very much so. You will definitely benefit from 4GB of RAM.
     
  7. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #7
    YES!


    4GB will be amazing.

    New ram is like getting a new mac™
     
  8. Mernak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    #8
    when you said you had .03GBs free did you also count inactive RAM? inactive ram is not "free" per se but it not being used but if needed will make room for what you are using(loads programs that you open/close a lot quicker because it saves their stuff into the ram. in general [free + inactive = true free]
     
  9. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #9
    Only if you're actually using it. Other it will not be noticeable at all, except in your wallet.
     
  10. unisuit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Location:
    los angeles
    #10
    mernak....good point. thanks for showing me that. i was not taking into consideration the difference between active and inactive, rather naively. anyways, i purchased more ram regardless. in the end i assume it will only help.
     

Share This Page