Is 512mb Ram enough?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mac0054, Sep 7, 2006.

  1. mac0054 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #1
    Hi!
    I bought a 1.83ghz white macbook today with 512mb ram. Should be getting it in a week..
    I'm getting a bit worried that the ram might not be enough. In the first place I ordered it with 512mb because I'm only going to use the macbook for 'light' things like surfing the web, word, music and storing my pictures.
    I never use for instance PhotoShop...
    Will 512mb still be enough or should i still upgrade it to 1GB?
    Do any of you others have any experience with the macbook using only 512mb?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Planner Dude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #2
    there are plenty of threads around here that talk about this subject...do a quick search to find out how well each mb configuration did with certain apps or games


    the bottom line is that 512 is the bare minimum.

    it's better to get the extra RAM from a third party anyway (like new egg)...Apple RAM is a ripoff.

    So try your MB and then if it is not to yor liking--order more ram---Don't sweat it...you made a good decision
     
  3. mdickson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, La.
    #3
    I bought my 2.0 white macbook stock with 512mb of ram. It worked alright but I didn't think I was taking full advantage of the processor.

    I upgraded to 1.25gigs of ram by buying a 1gb stick of g.skill from newegg.com for about 80 bucks. I can really tell a difference.

    So, in summary, if you can afford it without too much of a financial strain, then buy a gig stick online.
     
  4. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #4
    I would say unless ALL you do is internet/e-mail, no, it's not enough at all, especially when rosetta starts up.
     
  5. Planner Dude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #5
    You say that you use Word...Is that M$ Word?
    If so, that is a non-native app and runs under rosetta, which is amemory hog.
     
  6. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    I would up the machine with a 1gb chip (total 1.5gb). You gotta thing long term on RAM upgrades cause if you upgrade to only 1gb in 2 years you'll waste more money on moving it up higher.

    512mb will get old fast so I would consider getting more RAM.
     
  7. mac0054 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #7
    Okej, thanks for helping me out. Since I can afford the 1GB I guess I will upgrade my MB right away when I get it.
    I've used Windows for the last 5 years and switched to Mac now, so I'm looking forward to good mac experiences!
     
  8. Steve Jobless macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #8
    i say yes, because i had several app running and several of them crashed with only one 512 stick in my mbp
     
  9. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    I would say upgrade the ram otherwise you will have a lot of beachballing. The more ram the better :) or as much as you can afford
     
  10. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #10
    Yes, you need more RAM, your intent to do anything with photos tells me that. Buy the 1GB stick, but notice that this will give you 1.25GB, not 1.5 as mentioned above, since Apple puts two 256MB sticks in.

    You should keep the stock 256MB stick you remove in case you have problems. You would want to reinsert it before going to Apple for any repairs.
     
  11. Dr. Technology macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #11
    I just got my new MacBook yesterday with 512 MB RAM. I'm finding that any application that's not optimized for Intel (ie. MS Word) takes a while to start up -- in fact, even longer than it takes on my G3 iBook. I was planning to upgrade tp 2 GB RAM before, and I certainly haven't changed my mind.
     
  12. Coolerking macrumors member

    Coolerking

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #12
    Or just get the 1 Gig option. Its not THAT expensive.
     
  13. alexf macrumors 6502a

    alexf

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #13
    Well, I'm not sure if you need to up the RAM right away, as you are not doing anything memory intensive, but if you can afford it I would go up to a GB, especially since - as someone else mentioned - 512 will "get old" very soon.

    Stop by crucial.com and see what they charge; they are very reputable and I have had good experiences with them. In any case RAM is cheap these days... I remember upgrading my Powerbook in 1993 to 8MB from 4... 4MB cost almost $300! :eek:
     
  14. stcanard macrumors 65816

    stcanard

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #14
    Easy answer - this machine should be as fast as you want it to be.

    Use it for a week or two. If you feel it is kind of slow, yes you need more RAM. If you're happy with it, you don't need RAM at this point.
     
  15. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #15
    My rule is, an OSX running machine with integrated graphics requires 2GB of ram....minimum
     
  16. CyberB0b macrumors regular

    CyberB0b

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #16
    Yes, 512mb will be enough RAM for 'light' things.
     
  17. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #17
    512 is not enough, IMO. i would go for at least 1GB.

    of course, i'm the guy who can never get enough RAM and is constantly checking RAM usage.
     
  18. mahonmeister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Location:
    Redlands, CA
    #18
    I helped get my neighbor a Mac mini core solo with 1GB RAM and it was plenty fast for internet, music, and photos. I think for what this guy needs 2GB is overkill. Besides, 2GB is the max RAM you can get for Apple's integrated machines, at least for now.
     

Share This Page