Is 64 bit worth it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wmmk, Nov 19, 2006.

  1. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #1
    OK, I'm looking at both refresh CD and new C2D MBPs. so, my biggest concern is whether or not having a 64 bit mac will make a big difference when leopard comes out. anyway, either computer is a big step up from the G4 mac mini I'm on now.
     
  2. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #3
    There are more advantages to the C2D than 64-bit.
     
  4. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Not yet. Given that OS X isn't 64-bit - but will be very, very soon - and not many programs can take advantage of it yet. But give it time and it'll be worth it.
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    how useful of 64Bit totally depends on how many people use it, if no critical mass of user base, most software won;t bother think about 64Bit.
    consider the life span of a computer of 3-5 years, you have to make your own judgement.
     
  6. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #6
    what do you mean its not 64 bit.

    the box for mac pro says "quad core 64 bit workstation"

    merom = 64 bit, and how, may i ask, is a core 2 duo macbook pro not "true" 64 bit? what constitutes real 64 bit?
     
  7. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #7
    they're saying the mainboard doesn't take advantage of 64 bt capabilities of the merom.

    anyway, i should have been more specific in my description of my computer use. I would be using:
    all of the office apps a ton as I'm a student (though I'd switch to iWork is charts comes out)
    Pentax Browser and Lab (which I doubt will be 64-bit optimized in the next 5 years, they're not even going to be universal in the next 2 or so)
    Aperture (well, not yet, but I hope to buy it sometime)
    Photoshop Elements and Gimp
    Cubase and GarageBand
    Paintshop Pro in either CodeWeavers, Darwine or Q(with virtualization mod)
    normal iChat (being able to render those Leopard effects would be nice) Safari Firefox web stuff etc...
     
  8. macman2790 macrumors 6502a

    macman2790

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    it has a 32 bit chipset that can't address 64 bit addressable memory which is about 16 exabytes. a 64 bit chipset for a macbook pro would probably address 8gb of ram at the most. But core 2 duo will do 64-bit processing, 64-bit integer math and what not given that it's using a 64 bit app + os(leopard, vista....etc)
     
  9. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
  10. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #10
    The 64bit depends on its chipset, my friend. I think the particular intel 945 chipset only supports 32bit addressing.
     
  11. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #11
    such as 4MB L2 cache and what else? I'm seriously wondering. If I missed something other than L2 cache, I may have to rethink my decision!
     
  12. mith macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    #12
    i don't get it

    does my Imac 24 inch core 2 duo have 64 bit chipset or not??, and leopard is a 64-bit operating system(while keeping 32-bit compatibility) right so ,when it comes out it work perfectly?
     
  13. macman2790 macrumors 6502a

    macman2790

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    no it has the same limitations as the macbook pro
     
  14. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14

    New CPU core that's a lot faster. The cache is actually a smaller factor. It's also definitely "true 64 bit hardware" in any meaningful sense of the word.
     
  15. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #15
    interesting. do you think this would be noticable with the use I described/worth $500?
     
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    It is 64-bit in that it can run 64-bit applications. Are you talking about that or the ability to address more then 4 GB of RAM?

    1. It's a LAPTOP!
    2. I hope you enjoy paying for those density sticks. (For now.)
     
  17. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    Hard to say. For me it's worth it, for someone else it might not be. I'm partly getting a Core 2 macbook due to 64 bit stuff in leopard (can't elaborate why it's relevant for me; NDA. It won't be hugely relevant to most people, imo.), partly for the speed improvement, and partly 'cause I've heard it runs cooler. Tried one out in the store on Friday... pretty nice, but it was having some memory usage issues that I'm pretty sure are due to one of the custom store apps. I'm going to go test it in more detail on Monday or Tuesday.
     
  18. SLAMBACK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    #18
    I have a brand new macbook pro 2.16 core 2 duo for sale.
     
  19. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #19
    With the type of limited apps you're using, a Powerbook would be efficient (but limited for some of your apps, granted). Why do you worry about 64 bit? I would if I was a engineer and I needed to do some MEAN calculations. For every day use, pffft, a Core Duo macbook is more than adequate.
     
  20. macman2790 macrumors 6502a

    macman2790

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Texas
    #20
    i hope someone deletes your post, this isn't a macbook pro for sale thread. Post that in the marketplace, don't try to hijack threads that people are helping other people in.
     
  21. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #21
    The way it uses the cache is more effcient (either core can use all 4MB, if the other isn't). It has the new streaming SSSE3 unit (helps with multi-media). Improvements to pipelining. Streaming unit(s) can handle 128-bit data.

    Also, 64-bit architecture entails more than just >4GB addressing. It includes more efficient 64-bit instructions and 64-bit registers.

    Intel's Core 2 Duo info - it has both desktop and mobile data: http://www.intel.com/products/processor/core2duo/index.htm

    another brief: http://www.xbitlabs.com/web/display/20060807233613.html
     
  22. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #22
    and are there 64 bit applications? back with the G5 Macs, people always said that 64 bit was sort of an empty thing because applications weren't written to take advantage of it anyway....is that stil the case?
     
  23. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #23
    I haven't read anything specific about 64 bit optimizations in Universal apps. I would guess the pro apps will get an update before Leopard. Tiger supports it. Not sure, when/what, but it's in the near future.
     
  24. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #24
    Only command line applications. :rolleyes:

    Leopard seeks to resolve that while keeping 32-bit mode just fine.
     
  25. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #25
    Yes, it is a laptop running a laptop/desktop chip ... it'll handle 64 GB of memory when the time comes.

    Enough for now, especially since virtual memory will allow the machine to handle a good chunk of your HD if needed..

    The Intel CPUs aren't 64-bit like the PPC970 -- which had 64-bit virtual memory (and 42-bit physical memory), the Meroms are running 64-bit registers, 48-bit virtual memory, and 36-bit physical memory in a 32-bit chipset (at the moment.)

    So right now the laptops have the 32-bit limit, even though the Meroms are capable of more.

    The next chipset should give the laptops 4GB of RAM and a decent chance at 8GB -- if you want more you need to buy the Mac Pro which will handle 32GB of RAM.

    If 8GB will get you by for the next couple years, wait until MWSF and see what is up with the 965 based laptop.
     

Share This Page