is airport extreme easy to set up?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mith, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. mith macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    #1
    ok so my 24-inc i mac coming tomorrow 12pM can't waitttt...anyz so the airport extreme thing is a router right>??

    so i have a windows xp computer....my old one,,and my new 24inch iMac that will come tomorrow,,so i neeed to share the internet connection between dem...

    so is airport extreme easy setup on both sides,,,or something else??

    am new to macs, and new to routers,,,,help !
    thx
     
  2. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #2
    First of all, learn to type. :)

    It is very easy to set up. My network was recognized before I even got into the actual Mac OS X. It is truly easy. :)
     
  3. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #3
    Airport express is INCREDIBLY easy to set up!
    plug it in, pop in the disk, configure, and you're done!
     
  4. mith thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    #4
    thx

    lol ok i am just to excited to learn to type...

    i was just asking cause i know the mac will work(they alwayz do) i was reali just talking about my windows xp computer it'z a Compaq 1.8 ghz AMD processor how do i know it has a wireless card or if it'z compatible??
     
  5. CEAbiscuit macrumors 6502a

    CEAbiscuit

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Kitchen
    #5
    99.9% chance your windows machine will work. Don't worry about it. I have an airport extreme that no one has ever had trouble connecting with... mac or pc.
     
  6. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #6
    Note also that Apple makes a version of the Airport Admin Utility that'll run on XP as well - so you can manage your Airport Extreme from any computer.
     

Share This Page