Is apple selling open boxes as new?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Breckenridge, Jun 15, 2006.

  1. Breckenridge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Telluride, Colorado
    #1
    Yesterday I got me a new iMac from the apple store in denver. After unpacking and installing software I decided to pop a DVD into the drive.

    1. I was never asked to setup my region
    2. When I check on the region setting it tells me that I have 4 change settings times left.

    What's going on?!
     
  2. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #2
    I bet when they installed OS X from the factory they preload it with the correct region.
     
  3. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    I've never been asked to set my DVD region either.
     
  4. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #4
    I have never been asked this question either. When they build these units, their for this region, Region 1 and thus we are pre-set to it.
     
  5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    Ya, like others have said, when you buy a new Mac, you don't have to set your region (therefore it's a good thing you weren't asked to). ;) Also, when Apple says "5 changes," they count the first one.

    The only time I've needed to set the region was when I got a new optical drive (after the first one died).
     
  6. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #6
    They must have changed this fairly recently then. All the G5 iMacs that were put in the MIDI lab at my school over winter break needed the region to be set manually. And that took almost a month because the guy in charge of the lab is a slacker.
     
  7. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Last winter? I've had my iMac about a year and don't recall ever changing it. :confused:
     
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    I'm sure it has something to do with Educational sales..Since many were purchased the region wasn't set..

    Just a guess mind you :)
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    If you're using an administrative account, the region will be automatically set when you insert a DVD for the first time (assuming that the DVD is encoded for one region).
     
  10. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #10
    The first time I inserted a DVD I had to pick a region, this is on my 2 year old PowerBook G4. It might be a Mac OS X 10.3 thing ?

    But I think Breckenridge iMac is new so don't worry.
     
  11. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #11
    What about when you boot up the computer for the first time, perhaps your registration infomation is used to set the Region.
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    I see that you're in the UK. Are most DVDs over there set for one region, or many? Here in NZ most DVDs support regions 2 and 4, so you get asked which one you want the first time you insert one. Maybe the UK is similar.
     
  13. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #13
    All the DVDs I have are region 2, I admit I don't have that many but I think all UK DVDs are region 2
     
  14. swingerofbirch macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #14
    I once bought an iBook from CompUSA that I later found out had been a display model. It came loaded with 700 songs (quite good ones actually). Then I had to re-install the OS and I thought that the songs had been included by Apple from the factory--I called and asked them where they were, and they said they had never sold a computer preloaded with songs, so I am pretty sure looking back on it, and remembering some of the other odd circumstances of the purchase, that CompUSA had not been forthcoming that I was buying a display model.
     

Share This Page