Is Bluetooth Better on the Mac?

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Mar 26, 2004.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. macrumors 65816

    1macker1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    A Higher Level
    #2
    I cant say how easy/hard it is to connect with BT using a PC, but with my iMac, all i did was plug in the D-Link adapter and it was all good from there.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    #3
    I can tell you its much harder on the PC! i have tried it many times, my friends keep asking me to help them with it, and i am surprised and how hard it is compared to Mac OS X! it's just annoying! so so annoying and so stupid!
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    mangoman

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Location:
    Second Floor
    #4
    Just started using Bluetooth with my Nokia 3650 on a G4. Plugged that DLink thing in and viola! Easy! Crazy easy.

    I'm ready for the Bluetooth headset.
     
  5. Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #5
    I've not used bluetooth on a PC but I've had absolutely no problems getting my T610 to sync and I use an Apple bluetooth mouse (so that should work!) on my mac. I've heard it's a real pig to get it to work on a PC.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    1macker1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    A Higher Level
    #6
    When you buy the D-Link adapter, it comes with a set up disk. But the instruction say that if you are using a Mac, the disk is not needed, but if you are using Windows, please follow the instructions on the disk. I think that's proof enough.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Zurich
    #7
    A bit off topic but I saw the exact same thing when I read through the manual of a digital camera by Sony once. You had to install software to run the camere on Windows.
    Now the really funny thing is when you look at the fact that Sony also makes computers. So to connect a Sony camera to a Sony laptop you'll need extra software, but not when you connect your Sony camera to an Apple laptop...
    That should be really embarrasing for a company like Sony :p

    --- --- --- --- ---
    My free Desktop Pictures!
    http://homepage.mac.com/nuber
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    winmacguy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    that would be because Sony only makes the box, not the OS.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Zurich
    #9
    Of course. But if you take a step back and look at the situation again it's really funny.
    After all they act so important about their brand names and now you've got two products with the same brand name and have to help them understand each other... :D

    --- --- --- --- ---
    My free Desktop Pictures!
    http://homepage.mac.com/nuber
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #10
    I bought Logitec's MX900 system, because all i really wanted was a two button bluetooth mouse, and a few months ago, it was the only one.

    The box said it required windows and came with some CD. I decided I was desperate enough to give it a go.

    Now, it took me quite a while to get the mouse working, and I was beginning to get frustrated. I was all over the internet and system settings when I was reminded that bluetooth mice required batteries. :)

    It also came with a keyboard, but because CMD and OPT are reversed, i don't use it.
     

Share This Page