Is CD 2 Needed for Panther Re-Install?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by aztiml, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. aztiml macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #1
    Is CD 2 needed to install OS X Panther? Or is it just extra software?

    All I need is a clean OS, I don't need any extra stuff.

    Thanks for any info you can give!
     
  2. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    I think it is neccessary for the retail version, Panther is usualy 3 CDs and the third is the extra apps.

    Or do you have restore DVDs? If you do then only the first disk is required and the second is the iApps and classic.
     
  3. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #3
    I dunno, I think if you uncheck the additional apps and all the language packs and printer drivers, it might just install with CD 1. I think all of those are on CD 2. Then again, I've never tried it so I dunno...
     
  4. paxtonandrew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    I Come From A Land Down Under
    #4
    If you want a Panther experience without any iApps, by all means go with the one CD install. If you want the iApps and the other drivers etc, then use the 2nd c.d.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Yep, when I reinstall I only need the first CD because I don't install the iApps (because I have newer versions on my iLife DVD). I also turn off Asian fonts, Internet Explorer, StuffIt Expander etc.
     

Share This Page