Is Cydia down right now?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by KentuckyHouse, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #1
    Whenever I pull up Cydia, I get this message:

    [​IMG]

    After that, it tells me certain repos aren't loading. And if I go to search, it doesn't do anything when typing in even names of apps I've already got.

    I'm figuring it's just down right now, but I've never seen that message above, so I figured I'd ask.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #2
    Working for me right now. I've never seen that error message before.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #3
    Same.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #4
    The only parts of "Cydia" that can be down are the SHSH server and the homepage that shows up when you open Cydia.
     
  5. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Exactly.
    It doesnt look like its cydia, there's something wrong maybe with one of your repos or packages installed.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #6
    I've got a sinking feeling it's a conflict between Rock and Cydia. I installed something from Rock the other day (I can't remember what it was, though). They've been playing fine together since it was installed, but now I'm thinking that's where the problem is.

    I even tried deleting the Rock App and while it deleted the icon, it gave me the message that the app wasn't deleted.

    Crap...I just got my phone set up where I wanted it. I'm really hoping I don't have to do a restore now. :(
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #7
    Another thing I noticed...after I clear that error message in the OP, it doesn't show the "This device has SHSHs on file for 3.1.3, 4.0, and 4.0.1" in green up at the top of the screen.

    Weird.
     
  8. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Thats why I dont install both.
    There will always be conflicts with 2 installers running together adding and removing packages etc...
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    #9
    Same here

    I'm also getting the same error in Cydia. I tried removing Rock, but that didn't accomplish anything.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #10
    jmellens, when you tried to delete Rock, did it give you some message about it not being able to be uninstalled (but the app icon is gone anyway)?

    I have no clue what to do. I can't get Cydia to work at all. I can't remove Rock, apparently. I seriously don't want to have to do a restore, but I'm not sure what else to do.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #11
    +1

    after search I have tried the following:
    editing /etc/apt/sources.list.d/cydia.list
    editing /var/lib/cydia/metadata.plist
    deleting sources from /var/lib/apt/lists

    still no luck, same error everytime I start Cydia.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #12
    Alright, so it's not just me having this issue, so that makes me feel better. But I'm still thinking it's a conflict between Rock and Cydia and, unfortunately, Cydia lost this battle.

    Anyone have any advice on how to remove Rock (since the removal didn't work)? BTW, unfortunately for me, I don't really know how to do the SSH into the phone stuff, so that's not gonna help me...lol. That's something I REALLY need to do some reading on.

    I'll wait to do a restore until later tonight just in case someone comes along with another fix. Everything else is working just fine.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #13
  14. thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #14
    Thanks, man...that's a useful post right there. :cool:
     

Share This Page