Is Folding down?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Powerbook G5, Sep 13, 2003.

  1. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #1
    Last night I tried going to the stats page and it wouldn't load the page. I figured it might have been some maintainence cycle, so I went to bed not thinking anything of it. But, today I went to check on the status of a WU I was working on last night an it is at 100, but in the bottom corner where it displays status, it just constantly flashes between "attempting to connect" and "connection failed" over and over.
     
  2. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #2
    Seamed fine for me the last few days, I haven't really checked yet today though
     
  3. bertinman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #3
    I think the FAH log shows which server you are trying.

    Go to the folding.stanford.edu site and look at the server stats to see whats up with your server.
     
  4. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #4
    I just sent in a new WU a few hours ago, working fine, its probably your specific server. Don't worry, you will get the points
     
  5. Powerbook G5 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #5
    It's weird because I cannot even pull up the website, even. I've tried both typing it in and clicking on the link from the bottom of the macrumors.com webpage. I haven't checked right now though, so I will do that now and see if I can get it to work. I seriously hope the school hasn't blocked that port or something like they blocked Kazaa last week.

    [edit] Nooooo, I think the school blocked it!!!!! WHY!!!!!!! I was doing so well with it, too, getting up there in points. I cannot even pull the folding page from Stanford, even.
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    Just wait until you can't get to MacRumors! :D
     
  7. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #7
    That is weird.

    All web Ports are like '80' or '8080'.

    To access the Folding SITE it uses port 80... they can't block that.

    As for the folding port, go to the system administrator and say your doing the world a favor by folding.
     
  8. vannote macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    Actually, depending on their firewall/proxy setup, they certainly could...
     
  9. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    No, only filtering systems could block specific sites but again:
    BLOCK STANDFORD?!!?

    :confused: :eek:

    Yes in filtering software a proxy is used... but then you have a real problem, again I suggest asking the IT/network Admin.
     
  10. vannote macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Firewalls are quite often the "filtering system". Even you are capable of doing this kind of filtering with the ipfw installation sitting on your machine.
    I agree...

    Cheers
     
  11. Powerbook G5 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #11
    Just as an update, I got it working again. Not sure what happened to cause it to not connect for the past couple of days, but maybe it some some network error on the part of the school, but about a half hour ago I checked the PC and it started a new WU. I still can't get the folding website to load properly, though, but maybe that will start working by tomorrow morning. I swear, never trust a school to network DSL properly...it's been such a headache since the first day of school.
     
  12. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #12
    I'm glad you got it working, I doubt your school would block port 80 or a site on it :p
     
  13. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #13
    Hehe really.

    BUT:

    Is extremeoverclockers down?

    The stats page?

    I couldn't get it since yesterday.
     
  14. dstorey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    #14
    I cant get the stats page either or the statsman page...what happened to that?
     
  15. vannote macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    This morning I found a thread on their forums that would indicate that the individual that takes care of the stats server is gone for the weekend...
     
  16. Powerbook G5 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #16
    Yeah the stats page was down for me since Friday night but now it's working. The school network was also down all of today, so I am guessing they just had another of their famous network glitches.
     
  17. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #17
  18. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #18
    Its still down for me, your are talking about extremeoverclocking right?
     
  19. Powerbook G5 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #19
    I was talking about just the standard stats page on folding.stanford.edu. That's the only page I really knew about to check on my status but it is finally working again for me.
     
  20. bertinman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #20
    wow. never been to that site. I like it--mostly because it uses a lot of the ideas I was giong to put into my site, but differently :D.
     
  21. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #21
    It's a shame the EOC stats page is down for the moment. I believe I've just gone yellow for the first time, and was looking forward to seeing that in print! If the guy who runs the site is back on tuesday, then I guess I can wait until then......;)
     
  22. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #22
  23. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #23
    statsman.org has now been replaced. You can get the same stats as before, just by going to statsman.info.
     
  24. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #24
    Ah, tanks you.

    Tanks you very much.

    :D


    no one every told me I was wrong previously to you... :confused:
     
  25. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #25

Share This Page