is ibook available with "superdrive"?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by mykemp, Dec 10, 2003.

1. mykemp macrumors newbie

I'm a Mac newbie... I am interested in getting a new lap top, and I've been looking at the 15" G4 Powerbook with Superdrive... however, the i-Book is a little more in line with my price range.

I plan to use my Mac for web browsing, general use, some simple programming/web page development. So I believe an i-Book would be a good choice, however, I would also like to do some DVD editing, and convert some old videos to DVD, so I'd like a "superdrive".

Does anyone know if the "superdrive" is available in the iBook? -or- if it will ever be available in the i-Book... or should I just sit back and continue saving for the powerBook?

Thanks!

2. jxyama macrumors 68040

jxyama

no superdrive option for the iBook...

in the future, who knows... but considering iBook just got slot loading, it could be a while, if ever, that iBook gets the superdrive option.

3. NP3 macrumors regular

I would say the superdrive will not be availabe for the iBook until the Powerbooks get a G5. Because right now, the superdrive is one of the main options between the top of line iBook and 12' powerbook.

If the iBook got a superdrive without updating the powerbooks, then 12' books would loose its niche & wouldn't sell.

If you can wait until (probably June WWDC) for the G5 powerbooks, i would do that.

4. loneAzdgari macrumors member

I do remember that one company/reseller supplied G3 iBooks with DVD burners that weren't compatible with iDVD for no extra cost. I can't remember the company though, and due to the current slot loading drive i doubt they'd be able to do the same with the G4 iBook Range.

5. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda

http://www.mcetech.com

I seem to remember finding iBook G4's here but it was pretty well hidden... I'll poke around a little more.

EDIT:

Go to their store. http://store.mcetech.com