Is iPhoto 5 now ready for prime time?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by madmaxmedia, Aug 24, 2005.

1. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

I have about 16 GB of photos, and of course add more every month. I don't know exactly how many photos that is, but its obviously in the thousands (maybe around 10,000). I'm not a pro, but just shoot a lot of pictures.

Can iPhoto effectively handle a collection that large? I am currently just storing photos and organizing into monthly folders. I don't do a ton of image editing (I have Photoshop for that), I just want something that is a robust catalog app.

I like some of the iPhoto frills (like Galerie which creates web albums from iPhoto collections, working with iMovie, etc.) and import some of my choice pics into iPhoto, but don't know if it will handle everything.

Thanks!

2. spaceballl macrumors 68030

spaceballl

I've got 5 gigs of photos on a 1.2ghz 768mb iBook and iPhoto is dawg... It really is slow. Very slow to start. Once it is open it is not too bad but I imagine that since you have 3 times the amount of photos, it might be rough for you.

3. munkle macrumors 68030

munkle

What computer and how much RAM you've got will be important issues.

My recommendation is to use an app like iPhoto Buddy to split up your iPhoto library into manageable chunks :)

(iPhoto 5 will let you create multiple libraries by holding down the option key when you start up iPhoto. I just happen to prefer iPhoto Buddy for the few extra options it gives you).

4. caveman_uk Guest

caveman_uk

I've got a similar amount of photos and although I never noticed the slow startup on a powermac I notice it on a powerbook so I guess it's down to loading all the thumbnails on a slower harddrive. Your ibook harddrive is slower than my powerbook drive so it would be worse for you. Once it's up and running it's OK.

It still starts quicker than photoshop CS and photoshop's not even loading any pictures!