Is it a 400 of 450 G4?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by xanotos, Dec 12, 2005.

  1. xanotos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #1
    Hi all.

    Well I purchased a G4 450 computer from Ebay and when I plugged it in and start OS 10.3 I notice it mentions it as a G4 400. The back of the computer shows the sticker stating a 450. Could the software on the computer be corrupted or did someone use their free time to switch processors?

    Thanks in advance,


    David
     
  2. doucy2 macrumors 65816

    doucy2

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #2
    some one probally switched the processor
    just my guess
    maby a software glitch however but i doubt it
     
  3. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #3
    Only one way to really tell.

    Pop the heatsink off and read what the chip says on the die.

    It'd be like XPC7400-4**
     
  4. xanotos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #4
    If I pop the heatsink, wouldn't the processor be covered with thermo grease?
     
  5. Jon'sLightBulbs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    Only if the previous owner had performed a sexual act on it.
     
  6. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
  7. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    LMAO!!
     
  8. xanotos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #8
    Yeah, it's a Powermac. The reason I asked about the thermo grease is that I'm new to Mac and that is a requirement for PC processors.
     
  9. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    It will most likely have some sort of grease on it, but no worries just take off the heatsink look and put it back.
     
  10. crazytom macrumors 6502a

    crazytom

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    IL
    #10
    I assume that information is from the 'About this Mac' screen...Have you run the System Profiler to see what it says? or a program like Xbench?
     
  11. xanotos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #11
    Well, I got the information from System Profiler.
    Going to run that program Xbench to see if I can finally find the true processor speed.

    Damn, was about to download xbench and it runs on OS 10.3 and I only have 10.2. sucks..... :(
     
  12. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    Check the processor chip, its easy.
     
  13. xanotos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #13
    Ok, will remove the heatsink and what numbers tell me what processor it is?
    Hope it is easy to remove.
     
  14. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    It'd be like XPC7400-4** post back with the result.
     
  15. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #15
    Read the sticker on the back of the tower, what does it say?
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  17. xanotos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #17
    ok, removed heatsink and it says XPC7400 RX400PJ 88J87W DUS0005
    Does that make sense?
     
  18. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #18
    ok, well obviously i think someone may have switched processors on you then.
     
  19. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #19
    Yep, the chip is 400mhz, meaning someone replaced the CPU. You might be able to overclock the 400mhz to 450mhz, but either way, you didn't get what you paid for.
     

Share This Page