Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BobCochran

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 8, 2012
I am thinking of trying my hand at iOS development. I don't have any previous iOS experience. I am an experienced programmer, but not in Objective-C or Java. I am also new to the Apple culture. All my professional work has been for my employer as part of a team. I am getting closer to retirement. My interest is supplementing my income through app development. With these sketchy givens, my question is whether a newbie to iOS development, working alone rather than on a team, can reasonably expect a return on investment for new application development? Or am I just lining Apple's pockets with easy money to pay for a membership in the iOS developer program, and an developer ID, with little chance of succeeding financially?

Greencardman

macrumors 6502
Apr 24, 2003
Madison, WI
I'm pretty sure you can make the most money doing iOS coding for others. Especially if you're an experienced programmer who knows how to get things done on time. Making your own iOS would be a side project, the real money is in straight up development.

firewood

macrumors G3
Jul 29, 2003
Silicon Valley
Currently, a reasonable financial expectation for developing your own new iOS apps is to potentially make some spare coffee money... unless you are in the few percentile that get lucky, or are extensively featured by Apple, or are really good at innovative PR and marketing techniques (the winners divide a billion dollar+ pie). However, even coffee money for a year can be more than the developer enrollment fee, especially if creating apps is something you like doing. But the bigger expense item is getting a suitable Mac and some iOS devices for development if you don't have them already.

If you want to try iOS development consulting, having a quality app already in the App store is almost an absolute pre-requisite.