Is it just me, or does Version Tracker take AGES to load in Safari?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Balli, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. Balli macrumors 6502

    #1
    I am on a 24Mb broadband connection, all my software is up-to-date on my computer. (iMac G5 2.0Ghz running Mac OS X 10.4.6). But it still take AGES loading (15 seconds):

    http://www.versiontracker.com/macosx/

    Does anyone else have the same problems?
     
  2. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #2
    Yes, sometimes it even stops loading, and I have to reload. I also find this sometimes with macrumors.
     
  3. Balli thread starter macrumors 6502

    #3
    Do you know if this is the same for other browsers on the Mac?
     
  4. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    Same on windows, firefox is my browser don't worry, it's just versiontracker
     
  5. Balli thread starter macrumors 6502

    #6
    Thank you, that's good to here.
     
  6. jacg macrumors 6502a

    jacg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #7
  7. Balli thread starter macrumors 6502

    #8
    I would do the same, but Apple gives a free subscription to Version Tracker with .Mac, so you can track your updates.
     
  8. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #9
    Yes, it really does. In addition to this, it also sometimes has slow server /conections. On a 412kbpsup/1288kbps, it goes atabout 19 kbps.
     
  9. riciad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    I'm on a slow dial-up and I have to really, really want to find something before I venture to VersionTracker. Takes ages to get to the home page and going to a download link can take as long as 2 or 3 minutes.
     
  10. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    If you just discovered VersionTracker, then you may have discovered the site at the wrong time. Over the last two days, the site seems to have issues. This is not a generic Mac problem, but a problem with this particular site.
     
  11. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #12
    IT seems to be backto normal now. Fast. Werid though.


    I apologize, but I havetowarn you my spacebar isn't working well.
     
  12. Balli thread starter macrumors 6502

    #13
    I've been using Version Tracker for years though, and this problem I am having has only been happening for the last few months.
     
  13. BiikeMike macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #14
    I just loaded it in Firefox 1.5.0.2 on my wireless network in my apartment in about 4 seconds.

    :confused:
     
  14. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #15
    No, Firefox seems ok.
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    VersionTracker = 5 seconds
    MacUpdate = 2 seconds

    This is on my cheapo SBC/Yahoo! DSL. Yeah, I need those 3 seconds back. :rolleyes:
     
  16. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #17
    Loaded in 3 seconds here, and I'm on 56K right now (on vacation).
     
  17. Balli thread starter macrumors 6502

    #18
    What's your setup?
     
  18. Jovian9 macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #19
    Fine here. I've never had any problems with versiontracker loading.
     

Share This Page