Is it normal for the "Cut" menu item to not work in Finder?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jdavtz, Aug 22, 2005.

1. jdavtz macrumors 6502a

Hi, I'm new to OS X, and having some troubles as I can't get Finder to 'cut' files I've selected to then paste elsewhere. I know there are a variety of workarounds, but is this how my mac is meant to be? It came pre-installed with some version of Tiger which I updated to 10.4.2 before I noticed if this problem existed before doing the update.

If there's any patch to enable the greyed-out Cut item in the Edit menu, plese let me know! Or if everyone else can cut files, let me know so I can contact apple (again) and tell them that their support agent (who told me it's 'expected behaviour') was wrong. (Someone on a different forum said they can cut files with their two macs).

Thanks for any help!
    -Jon.

2. croshtique macrumors 6502

You can 'copy' files from one location to another but not 'cut' them. It's been normal behaviour since OS X hit the scene I think.

3. stridey macrumors 65816

stridey

This is normal Mac behaviour. The rationale behind the decision is that if you cut a Finder item, and then copy something else, accidentally writing over the cut item in the clipboard, the item is gone forever. Drag and drop is the preferred method. :)

4. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

rainman::|:|

Yep, cutting is akin to moving, which has always been drag-and-drop on Mac, since way before OS X. And of course there are Terminal commands.

5. 20rogersc macrumors 65816

20rogersc

Cutting is just not meant to be.

Instead (which is an easy option):
    Just open up the two finder windows, one which contains the file you want to 'cut', the other it's destination. Then just drag and drop - easy as that!

::20ROGERSC::

6. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo