Is it possible to remove the Google bar from Safari 2

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dogbone, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #1
    I used to be able to get rid of if in the old Safari but now it seems permanently attatched to the address bar. Is there some way to easily hack it off. Or am I just missing something really obvious
     
  2. DaftUnion macrumors 6502a

    DaftUnion

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  3. dogbone thread starter macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #3
    This is extremely disappointing information.

    I am somewhat surprised that apple would do such a microsoft type thing like ramming google down my throat just because they can. It isn't like an oversight is it. They have actively taken away the ability to remove the google search bar.
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    You can slide it over so it's barely an inch wide. Why is it that big of a deal? Use Firefox if it bothers you.
     
  5. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5

    Sucks that you don't use google. Its awesome. But honestly. I rarely ever use it. I don't know, but I instinctively type "google.com" then search. I don't know why... But by the time I notice I did that, I'd already found what I needed :eek:
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    It's weird, but I don't really use it either. Usually if I need to search for something I open a new tab and go to Google.com even though I know it'd be easier to simply type it in the bar and press COMMAND-RETURN. :eek:
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I don't use it because it searches Google US instead of Google NZ, and there doesn't seem to be a way to change it.
     
  8. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #8

    Cosmic isn't it? :confused:
     
  9. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #9
    http://www.pozytron.com/?acidsearch

    wonderful plugin
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10

    Same problem with Spotlight, but I'm slowly getting over it. :confused:
     
  11. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    You know wha'd be nice? A 'Find-as-you-type' [Like Firefox] plugin for safari. I'm getting sick of Apple+F. Why would I need a popup window? :confused:
     
  12. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #12
    Instead of typing google.com you can use option+command+f instead of clicking on the google search bar.
     
  13. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #13
    Using Safari Enhancer, you can enable the Debug mode, and alter which search engine is used. You can probably disable it there. Apple really should provide alternatives, Google is great and all, but that may not last forever...
     
  14. Nuc macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #14
    Use Saft

    I tried this out and it was pretty cool. You can customize the google search bar somewhat, anyways check it out. I haven't brought myself to pay for the non demo though...

    saft

    Look on this page to see how the search bar can be changed:
    saft usage

    Nuc
     
  15. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #15
    hahah exactly. I always go to the site
     
  16. dogbone thread starter macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #16
    I don't want it on my bar at all. It is a big deal for two reasons. 1 it ruins my dark grey skin and stands out like dogs balls. 2 Philosophically apple shouldn't be ramming another company's stuff down my throat.


    I agree, I only ever use google. I have it on my menu bar and I like to enter what I want then decide whether to search .com.au or .com sometimes I'll run one then hit the button to run the other. This is why I prefer it in a normal window. I also have the opportunity to run the search as an image.

    As someone mentioned Safari Enhancer will do that. But it won't disable Google.

    There are all these programs that will enhance the google seach bar but I just want the @#%&ing thing off my Safari.
     
  17. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #17
    I've just installed AcidSearch. bloody brilliant! thanks for the link PlaceofDis!
     
  18. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #18
    In AcidSearch: Be sure to add the MacRumors Forums channel from "More Channels"... ;)
     
  19. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #19
    If you have Developer Tools installed there's a way:

    Show Package Contents of (preferably a copy of) Safari.app, navigate to Contents/Resources/<your language>.lproj and
     
  20. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #20
    Anybody use the Snapback feature? I'm trying to use it but it's sort of a useless feature. :p
     
  21. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #21

    Yeah, I haven't found it useful at all. I suppose it's nice to have though. :)
     
  22. dogbone thread starter macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #22
    Hmm When I opened ToolbarItems.nib there was only three things in there, classes.nib info.nib and keyedobjects.nib

    I had a developer tools package in the Applications>installers so I installed it and now there is a DevTools folder on the HD>LIbrary but I don't know how to use it once I've got the ToolbarItems.nib folder open.

    Any clues?

    We're so close I can almost smell the decaying remnants of the google search bar.
     
  23. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #23
    It works.

    In Interface Builder, double-click the Toolbar items under the Instances tab of the ToolbarItems.nib window:

    [​IMG]

    Then double-click inside the Google box (to get the black border):

    [​IMG]

    Press delete/backspace:

    [​IMG]

    Exit Interface Builder (and save of course), Open Safari:

    [​IMG]

    Enjoy.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. dogbone thread starter macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #24
    OK I've got the Interface Builder application open. And I can find the ToolbarItems.nib in the Safari package

    BUT

    How do I open the ToolbarItems.nib in Interface Builder?
     
  25. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway

Share This Page