Resolved Is it possible to take a screenshot during OSX boot?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by theSeb, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. theSeb, Jul 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012

    macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #1
    I would like to be able to take screenshots of the boot process and the boot menu that comes up when one holds down alt for my own nefarious purposes... yet for the life of me I cannot figure out a way to do this.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. GGJstudios, Jul 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012

    macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    I don't believe that's possible, since the screen shot is a Mac OS X function and Mac OS X isn't fully functional during the boot process.

    Edit: Some Googling found this: How to screen capture a startup or a fresh install? - Mac-Forums.com
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #3
    I am already half way there with VMWare Fusion, but Fusion does not show the boot selection menu like OSX does, unfortunately. I can capture the fresh install stuff and I can capture how to use the Recovery HD's reinstall, disk utility, restore from Time Machine etc, but I can't capture the damn boot menu and selecting the Recovery HD itself.

    I've even bought a Blackmagic Intensity Thunderbolt to try and do this, but that's another story in itself. :mad:

    I wonder if Parallels shows the stuff I am missing?
     
  4. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    I haven't tried it, but it's worth a shot. Of course, there's always the old-fashioned method of using a camera, if all else fails.
     
  5. theSeb, Jul 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #5
    Yes, I may have to resort to this, but it's going to look like rubbish with my non-existent photography skills. :(

    Update: Yipeee... I've figured out how to do this with the Blackmagic.
     

Share This Page