Is it possible to use a Radeon x1600 card on a Mac Pro as secondary card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rgomez, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. rgomez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    Aguascalientes, México
    #1
    Hi there,

    I have a mac pro with the stock nvidia card, and I have a PC with a x1600 card to do the work stuff. I have been thinking in moving to the Mac Pro and working in Parallels or from time to time under bootcamp if needed.

    My question is because I have my PC with 2 screens connected to the x1600, and I would love to put those 2 to my Mac Pro, apart from the one I currently have. Here in Mexico is pretty difficult/expensive to find a Mac Pro compatible card.

    So, I don't need the card to boot. I just need it to be recognized by mac osx and use it. Do you believe is possible?

    I'm going to try later, but if someone already knows the answer, you could save me from having to mess with my ugly PC case :) (to be honest, is not *that* ugly, is a HP/Compac dc7600, but still nowhere as pretty as my Mac Pro)

    Regards,

    Rodrigo Gómez
     
  2. rgomez thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    Aguascalientes, México
    #2
    Well... did the test. I have installed now the card in my mac, and it seems to recognize it (displayed the pci-express lane selection options, etc) but doesn't seem to load any drivers for it :mad:

    Any idea, or it's not really possible?
     
  3. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #3
    the hackintosh community has drivers for a bunch of cards. i see if i can find em.

    edit: try this http://installers.dl.am/
     
  4. CaptainHaddock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    Nagoya, Japan
    #4
    It was my impression that the Mac version of video cards includes OpenFirmware and EFI drivers right in the firmware, while the PC version depends on Windows to install drivers. (That's why Mac hardware works even without booting into the OS.)
     
  5. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #5
    I think you need to flash your pc card to work into the mac. Furthermore, if you have two graphic cards from different vendors (ATI and Nvidia) it can cause interference (slow performance) with each other in the macpro, at least that was the experience of some having a 7300 and 1900.
     

Share This Page