Is it safe to use Chrome with mountain lion?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by kiteflyer, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    #1
    When I first got my 2012 Mac Air I read there where problems using Chrome.
    Have those problems been resolved, can I put Chrome on my computer now?
    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #2
    There are zero issues with Chrome now in Mountain Lion. It's fully compatible with all Macs including the Retina MacBook Pro.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    seared.ahi

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #3
    Brother's been using it with ML for the past few days. Hasn't reported any problems. I still prefer Safari though. On a PC I could understand using Chrome, but on a Mac...Safari is better to me.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    kylera

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul
    #4
    I too have a 2012 13" Air and running the latest version of chrome. No issues so far.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    I tried Chrome on OS X, but Firefox is far superior IMO.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    #6
    Thanks for the info. I still use Firefox on occasion but many times I find with Firefox that I am only able to print out only the first page of an article I am interested in. I had read a year or two ago that it was a known problem with Firefox. I do like Chrome's preview feature where I choose specific pages so I avoid printing pages with no useful text.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #7
    I've had massive problems with the google software updater causing system hangs.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #8
    Since i installed mountain lion on my MBA i never had problems using google chrome so i guess it is safe to use it. :)
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #9
    When using Chrome, when you swipe sideways between screens, do you get the big arrow on either side of the page?
     
  10. S1njin, Aug 9, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #10
    I've had Chrome lock up on me. This is on a freshly installed copy of ML on a new 13" MBA. I've read others have similar issues - there are many posts in the google forums about it.

    I'm still using Chrome though.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #11
    Works fine for me although

    I am trying to figure how to go back to Lion so I can have my battery life back.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #12
    It was safe to use Chrome for the most part during Lion as well. Google deployed a quick fix already when the news went out about the memory leak on the air.

    I'd use safari but all bookmarks, web history etc from my desktop PC is synced through the google account.

    Find the nearest dock, jump on a ship, travel to the bay, find the Lion DMG, make sure it's on a USB stick and boot from it?

    I'm refering to ebay... myes...

    I'd advise you to try a clean install of ML first.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #13
    Have a clean install of ML

    As Ars Technica reports, battery life is now reduced 38% and "Apple is working on the problem."
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    No issues with Google Chrome for me at all to be honest, got ML on release day and used Chrome with it, no issues. Using it now on my new MBA and it working fine. As good as Safari, better than the resource hog that is Firefox.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    Yes.
     

Share This Page