Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gdeusthewhizkid

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 14, 2008
NY|NJ
hey guys,

Im a music producer on my spare time. I already own a mac mini and a macbook pro. I use logic express 9 on macbook pro and logic 8 on mac mini. I have a ton of virtual instruments I use and it seems to choke up my systems. Thinking of upgrading to a mac pro refurbished. One of my photographer buddies swears by the new mac mini for his photo studio. What would you guys suggest. I was thinking of staying portable with macbook air or new macbook pro..

MisterKeeks

macrumors 68000
Nov 15, 2012
It depends on which one you get. There are a lot of times when the new Mac Mini would outrun one of the older ones. However, good luck with expandability with the Mini.

beto2k7

macrumors 6502
Jan 6, 2010
::1
hey guys,

Im a music producer on my spare time. I already own a mac mini and a macbook pro. I use logic express 9 on macbook pro and logic 8 on mac mini. I have a ton of virtual instruments I use and it seems to choke up my systems. Thinking of upgrading to a mac pro refurbished. One of my photographer buddies swears by the new mac mini for his photo studio. What would you guys suggest. I was thinking of staying portable with macbook air or new macbook pro..

Someone will correct me if Im wrong but afaik. Photography = disk intensive, Audio = processor intensive. So the point your friend makes is basically invalid for your needs. If you can get your hands on a 2009 Mac Pro and upgrade it to Hex processores by flashing the firmware.

My 2 cents.

phoenixsan

macrumors 65816
Oct 19, 2012
In my knowledge....

a big array of instruments requiere big datasets, hence, lots of RAM. And if you want the capacity to customize a computer with multiple setups, the Pro can be for you. But I conceded, outdated....