Is it true that the new single processor G4's can add a 2nd CPU?

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by XscapePro, Aug 16, 2001.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    #1
    I recently attended one of Apples Seminars and the presenter from Apple mentioned that the new single-processor G4's had an open slot for a second CPU.

    Does anyone know if this is true?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
  3. macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #3

    So your saying that you can just buy a second CPU from Apple and drop it in and thats it? So I could have a dual 867?

     
  4. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #4
    Cool

    You can do that?
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #5
    sure, you could buy the Encore/ST g4 duet, but that's only a dual 500 MHz
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Thats what I said, I even gave the link.
     
  7. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #7
    no...


    You'd have to pull your 867 out and buy a replacement card... there isn't an empty slot to drop a 2nd processor in.

    arn
     
  8. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #8
    To bad

    I wish they make a card lik that.
     

Share This Page