Is iTunes 11 compatible with the iPod Classic?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by PhiladelphiaX, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #1
    If I install iTunes 11, will it be compatible with my 80GB iPod Classic? I've been hearing some rumors that the new iTunes update is not compatible with it (which doesn't' make sense to me) -- and doesn't sync content with any iPod Classic device.

    Is this true?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  3. macrumors 6502a

    SnowLeopard OSX

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    #3
    I had no problems syncing content to my iPod Classic, either.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
  7. macrumors 68000

    Lancer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Hope it works with my 80Gb Classic as I'll be getting it with my new iMac soon...
     
  8. macrumors demi-god

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    #9
    Is iTunes 11 compatible with the iPod Classic?

    Yes it is more flexible and also using for apple iphone.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #10
    Not if you are using Windows 8 it blue screens Everytime you connect it. I am forced to synce it on my older Windows 7 PC.
     
  11. RMo
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    #11
    If you're using Windows and it's crashing, did you get the right version? You'll need the 64-bit version (actually just the 64-bit driver and the same old 32-bit iTunes application itself, unless they changed something with version 11) on an x64 edition of Windows; otherwise, the 32-bit one is what you'll need.

    I don't know what happens if you try to install the 32-bit one on a 64-bit edition of Windows. I hope it would be handled a bit more gracefully, but I'd look into this in any case. Completely uninstalling and reinstalling may also help.
     

Share This Page