Is my Mac 64 bit?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iMonkeez, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #1
    I have an Intel Core Duo 2.0Ghz Processor, 250GB HDD, 2GB RAM, ATi Radeom X1600 Graphics card with 256 MB of vram etc etc. Basically the 20" version.

    So as the title suggests, is it a 64 bit machine, if it is not, does that mean I will not be able to run snow leopard?
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Its not. However, that doesn't mean you can't run Snow Leopard. Snow Leopard is far more optimised for 64 bit than Leopard is now but that's not meant in that its optimised for 64 bit instead of 32 bit. Snow Leopard will apparently make better used of 64bitness than Leopard does, it won't be any worse for 32 bit.

    The thing from Snow Leopard that should provide the most gain to all users is its supposed multi-processor optimisations, which you *will* be able to use.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #3
    Core Duo = 32 bit
    Core 2 Duo = 64 bit
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #4
    um yea, it definately is. look up T7200.

    EDIT: oops, i see its a core duo. if its a core 2 duo, then its a T7200. if its a core duo, its a T2500, which is not.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #5
    thanks for the help guys :D

    Since my questions been answered, ccan someone close this thread?
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    We just let it die and fall to the end of the forum. No biggie.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Nooo....

    It must not die!

    I have a 1.5ghz G4 12" powerbook. Is it 64 bit? Will IT run Snow Leopard? Should I be worried about it being obsolete? How come my battery doesn't run as long as it used to? Why isn't it as fast as a macbook, I mean, it's a POWERbook, shouldn't that be better?
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #8
    G4 = 32 bit
    G5 = 64 bit
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    ;)

    I was kidding, but thank you.

    Sad that CoreDuos aren't 64 bit, but for all intents and purposes, it REALLY doesn't matter.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #10
    I had a feeling you were kidding, but who knows, someone in the future who needs to know this and actually searches the forums will find that helpful. :cool:
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Lyra

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Beta Colony, Alpha City
    #11
    I have a MacBook Pro (Santa Rosa), is that 64Bit compatible? I mean when Snow Leopard is running it states that the apps are 64Bit but it's not enabled in the system profile. o_O
    :confused:
     
  12. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #12
    Yes, the Santa Rosa chipset is 64-bit. Don't know what SL is doing, but the computer is certainly 64-bit.
     
  13. macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #13
    NO powerPC can run snow leopard 64-bit or otherwise.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #14
    That doesn't change the fact the G5 is natively a 64-bit computer.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    So my Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 ghz imac can run 64 bit? Sweet.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #16
    Only if its a 2008 model or newer. If its the version 7,1 or older, you're stuck with 32-bit.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    It was bought last year brand new from JB last year, so it would be a 2008 model, it has an Ati Radeon 2400HD.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #18
    All Core 2 Duo are 64 bit

    The title says it.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #19
    Corrected. Just because the CPU is 64 bit doesn't mean the computer is capable of 64 bit operation.
     
  20. macrumors G5

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #20
    All Apple computers with a Core 2 Duo processor are capable of 64 bit operation. If you think otherwise you should explain yourself.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #21
    I'm waiting for your explanation.

    [​IMG]
    I don't see any mac mini or macbook on that list, they have a 64bit cpu. The imac 7,1 has a 64 bit cpu too, as do the Mac Pro 1,1 and 2,1, but they can't boot to 64-bit mode.
     
  22. macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #22
    That list is for 64-bit kernel - not 64-bit processing. It has nothing to do with being able to run 64-bit processes. All Core 2 Duo CPUs can run 64-bit processes. As discussed in many other threads, a 64-bit kernel doesn't buy much in performance. Booting into 64-bit mode without a good reason can create more problems than it solves.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #23
    Running in half 32-bit is not 64-bit.

    Thats like having a race car with a non-turbo pinto engine.
     
  24. macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #24
    It's not running in "half & half" mode. The kernel runs in 32-bit mode. It interfaces with 64-bit processes. They utilize the 64-bit capabilities of the C2D CPUs, including address space.

    The kernel by design utilizes as little CPU resource as possible. It doesn't benefit much from the math benefits of 64-bit mode, so its real need is larger address space support - within the kernel and/or its kexts.

    There have been several threads and articles (MacWorld had one a couple of days ago) trying to dispel some of the myths and rumors about running a 32 vs 64-bit kernel. I'm nodding off at the moment, otherwise, I'd go find them. If the question remains later on, I'll try and post them (or links).
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    #25
    Wow, people really need to read... this has been hashed over MANY times across all the forums...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=771791

    In short, you won't see nor notice ANY difference between running the 32 bit vs 64 bit kernel, all the apps you run will be 64 bit. Yes, you have a 64 bit machine and you'll be doing everything (except the actual kernel which is 1% of the OS) will be 64 bit.

    Sit 2 identical Macs side by side, 1 running 32 bit kernel, 1 running 64 bit. I guarantee you won't know the difference unless you bing up system info and look for it.
     

Share This Page