Is non Apple RAM okay for my G5?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jsmac, Aug 23, 2005.

  1. jsmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    #1
    Hi- I have a Power Mac G5 2Ghz dual processor with 1GB of RAM. I would like to upgrade to 2GB and I noticed there is a big price difference between the Apple Ram at $250 for 1GB and around $130 for apple compatible RAM.

    My question is, is it safe to put the non Apple RAM into my G5? If so is there a certain brand that I should look for that is better than another?

    Thanks a lot for any insight.

    Jsmac
     
  2. ohcrap macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    #2
    Personally, I wouldn't buy anything but Crucial. I'm going to be upping my RAM to 1GB soon and I'm undoubtedly buying from www.Crucial.com. :)

    My 2 cents...
     
  3. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #3
    Its perfectly ok to put non-Apple RAM in your PowerMac. Its just not covered under the original AppleCare warranty, but all new RAM is covered under its own warranty anyways. Usually its a lifetime warranty on the RAM depending on where you go.

    I get my RAM from either Crucial, 4allmemory, or memorytogo. All have a lifetime warranty on their RAM. I think 4allmemory even has free shipping. I've never had a single bit of trouble with either of these 3 companies. I did however have a 256MB DDR stick of RAM that was an Apple OEM stick that went bad. It came on my old iMac G5. I just took it out before I sold it and left the 1GB DDR DIMM in there. I didn't notice a single difference between 1.25GB of RAM and 1GB of RAM.

    You may want to even look on eBay. I just bought a 1GB DDR SODIMM for my 17" PowerBook for $129 brand new still in the package (never been opened). Its even Kingston RAM which is good RAM.

    Just remember that you need to buy your RAM in matched pairs because PowerMacs use dual channel RAM. So if you buy a 1GB DDR stick, then you'll need to buy another 1 GB DDR stick to match it or else it won't work. Only PowerMacs are that way...so far.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    I would stick to a reputable third party seller who tests and guarantees compatibility with your specific model Mac.

    Kingston RAM (and Crucial RAM) are good... if they are the RIGHT Kingston or Crucial modules. The Kingston and Crucial PC generic modules, like other generics, are a risk that they won't work in the Mac, if the SPD settings and chip organization aren't correct.

    Don't let anybody con you with the "High Performance - fastest available memory" story. All compatible Mac RAM runs at the SAME speed, 'cause the Mac makes it do so.

    In the USA I like Data Memory Systems for Mac RAM. I have dealt with them for over 5 years.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  5. berkleeboy210 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #5
    Avoid MacSales!!! I had a horrid experience with G5 RAM from them spent almost $300 for 2GB of RAM, and my system wouldn't start for like 3 days after I tried to put it in.
     
  6. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #6
    See i hate reading things like this, but this is what i am going through now.

    2 512mb sticks from OWC (macsales) and i have 8 kernel panics in an hour. Not to mention all of the other kernel panics that happened after that while i ran Rember on the ram. They have two more sticks coming to me now, but if they dont work, my money is going to Data Memory Systems b/c their price is quite good for my TiPB ram. Crucial is just too expensive on the ram for my TiPB ($125 for one 512mb stick).
     
  7. sambo. macrumors regular

    sambo.

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Location:
    outback, far from the surf
    #7
    my $0.02

    dude, i just checked that crucial link....
    AUD$200- for a 1GB RAM Stick? :D
    man, i remember paying $500- of a MIGHTY 16MB RAM stick not so many years ago...... :mad:
     
  8. desenso macrumors 6502a

    desenso

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #8
    I used Data Memory Systems (CanadaRAM's suggestion) and everything went very well. I'd recommend them again.
     
  9. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #9
    I only buy my Ram from Apple, and in the case of my Mini i had them install it too. I know i pay more, but i like having the piece of mind that its covered under the same warranty as my Apple product and that i wont get hassled if i need to have it repaired. Its worth the extra imho

    Ed
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    1 Year Apple warranty beats Lifetime third party warranty in your case.
     
  11. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #11
    More if you have Applecare, plus its just plain easier.. I walk in to the store i say the amount i want they install it i walk out its done. If they fry something or break something while doing it its their responsibility not mine. In the case of my mini there was no way in hell i was going to risk voiding my warranty by breaking something let alone sticking a putty knife in to my mac. Its convienent, its safer, and its my choice/money.

    Its kinda like car service its cheaper elsewhere or doing it yourself, but i would rather take it to my local dealer and let them deal with it. Quality of Service and making sure my product is fully supported by its warranty means more to me than saving a few dollars. Ultimately a $1700+ PM is worth more than a $50-$100 in savings on 3rd party unsupported RAM if you were to say break something or do anything to void your warranty.

    Ed
     
  12. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #12
    i'll echo what everyone else has said... forget about apple RAM, save a ton of money and buy from crucial. i don't use apple RAM if it can be avoided
     
  13. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #13
    I agree w/ you on that one... I'd be too scared to DIY RAM on a Mac mini, but on my PB it was painfree. However, I did go w/ Apple RAM for my iMac G5 just because I didn't want to deal w/ the hassle of ordering it through another dealer, waiting for it, installing it, trouble shooting (if anything went wrong) and starting all over if an issue couldn't be fixed.
    Hee, that I might have to semi-disagree w/... I get worried that the dealer might void my warranty if they care to/notice the um, slight mods I have done. :eek:
    I think there is no debate that RAM is cheaper elsewhere, but for some end-users (I would include myself in this group), the thought of tinkering w/ expensive gadgets is terrifying or, maybe just unsettling... Paying a few more $ is worth it for we who are not as confident or gifted in the ways of computing/computer mods. :D
     
  14. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #14
    I have always got my memory, from Crucial, but I would trust other reputable companies as well.

    I would probably never get it direct from Apple, unless they moved the prices to compete with places like Crucial. I want to pay less, and there is something fun about adding the memory yourself.
     
  15. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #15
    I'm in the same boat as jsmac with a Dual 2Ghz and 1GB SDRAM. My dilemma is whether or not I should fill up all eight slots and take it to 4GB instead of two. I've got two 512MB DIMM's now. I suspect they all need to be the same...

    ...or can I throw some 1GB DIMM's in with my 512MB DIMM's :confused:
     
  16. ohcrap macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    #16
    You can mix any size with any size as far as capacity (density, whatever), just make sure they are PC2700 (or faster if you want to waste money..) and that they are compatible in general with your Mac.
     
  17. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #17
    The speed on my current memory is PC3200 so I guess I should stick with the same. Thanks for the info :)
     
  18. ohcrap macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    #18
    My apologies. I was thinking of my Powerbook which uses DDR333 (PC2700). If you have a Mac that supports DDR400 (PC3200), then obviously stick with that speed. :D
     
  19. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #19
    Yeah, 2 x 512 + 2 x 1 Gb is perfectly good - 2.5 Gb RAM
     
  20. aznsal612 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    #20
    To echo everyone else, as long as you get Crucial or Apple branded RAM (samsung), it's going to be all okay. Apple tends to use a higher quality RAM, like Crucial, that just last longer than other third party brands. And it helps that you get the warranty as well as a ease of use with Apple.
     

Share This Page