Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ac6789

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 28, 2007
To get away from the "name that font", critiques and tech threads, thought I would post this issue that's been on my mind for a while now:

I'm primarily a print designer. I can hold my own on HTML and CSS (still learning) but I enjoy print a lot more. There's nothing like holding a physical piece after working for days (or weeks/months) on a project. There's something in the smell of print and the feel of paper that makes it more "real" than web design. That and the finality of print really gets you paying attention to details and all the little bits that can't be easily changed in two seconds by tweaking code!

I'm currently looking for work and I swear all I see are web design positions. The few (and I mean very few) print openings are more production positions which is OK but not for me. I'm looking for more of a creative challenge, solving visual and communication problems.

So this got me thinking are print designers a dying breed? with everything becoming internet based, from news, invitations, books, magazines, etc. it sure seems that way. What are your thoughts?

On a related note, with the web design positions, where is the line drawn between Web Designer and Web Developer? On 90% of the job postings for a Web Designer you're required to know Javascript, Actionscript, ASP.Net, XML, database knowledge, and to a lesser degree Ajax, ruby and PHP. I know a lot of people want a "all-in-one" designer, but at what point do you stop becoming a designer and start becoming a programmer?

Discuss away!

shecky

May 24, 2003
Obviously you're not a golfer.