Is something wrong with my iMac G5? Or am I doing something wrong?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by shuurajou, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. shuurajou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, England.
    #1
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Go to "apple menu->System Preferences...->Energy Saver->Options", set the processor speed to "highest", and rerun; I'd be interested in the difference. Your CPU is testing way too slow.
     
  3. shuurajou thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, England.
    #3
    Alright, made a new benchmark (thanks for the tip), didn't restart or do anything special to enhance it at all.

    http://ladd.dyndns.org/xbench/merge.xhtml?doc2=93926

    What do you think now? That seems much better and the system feels much faster.
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    Much better! For whatever reason, G5's have enormous performance improvements with that setting - but it will generate more heat/use more power, so your fans may come on more often.
     
  5. shuurajou thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, England.
    #5
    Wow! It feels like my Mac just got turned into a McLaren F1 after living it's life as a Volvo for a few years lol.

    The fans don't bother me as my iMac is living next to a wind tunnel of a PC anyway :).
     
  6. bellis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    #6
    Funny.

    I had a score of 113 when I tried it last night. This morning I found I had it also set on automatic. Now it jumped up to 154.53. Sweet. Wish I knew what that meant.

    EDIT: Whoooah Nelly. There really is a noticeable difference. She's quite a bit more zippy even when just opening and closing programs. Now I gotta try photoshop and some other things.
     
  7. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #7
    Is this processor setting something new with iMacs? I don't see such a setting in my Energy Saver Panel.
     

Share This Page