Is SP2 really necessary?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CDailey, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. CDailey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Is a copy of XP with SP2 really necessary in order to install Windows with Boot Camp? I've got a copy of XP Pro and a SP2 disc i ordered from MS, but not an XP disc with SP2 on it. Am I gonna have to slipstream my disc? Or can I get away with installing normal XP then installing SP2?
     
  2. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #3
    Sp2 is standard now. Bootcamp won't let you install windows with sp1 , possibly because of the security holes. Just slipstream the disk, it really isn't that hard. The effort taken slipstreaming the disk is a lot less than the hassle you'll have trying to install Windows with sp1. :)
     
  3. ich1ban macrumors regular

    ich1ban

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    #4
    Yes it is if you want to use the internet. I couldn't use it when I installed it without sp2.
     
  4. CDailey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    So it is possible to install without SP2? Can you use the SP2 cd to install SP2 afterwards?
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    AFAIK no one has succeeded in doing so. Perhaps in part because the Apple provided drivers need SP2...

    the VAST majority of problems with Boot Camp installs seem to be due to people who seem to think the requirements for SP2 don't apply to them.

    Just slipstream it. It'll cost you a blank CD and save tons of aggravation.

    B
     
  6. CDailey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Okay. Thanks guys. I'll have a go at this slipstreaming process.
     

Share This Page