Is there a Absolute Beginner guide to OS X?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mr Skills, Jan 17, 2007.

1. Mr Skills macrumors 6502a

Mr Skills

Does anyone know of a site or book which gives an absolute beginner guide to OSX?

My parents have difficulty with the most basic of things - like moving and resizing windows (which they call "the little screens"), and I have found nothing mac oriented, certainly on the web, which caters to their level (the beginner guides on apple.com and in the Guides section here, are too complex). There are plenty of good sites that are Windows oriented, but that is not much use in this context.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? If there were something on the web, that would be easiest.

Thanks! :)

2. OwlsAndApples macrumors 6502a

OwlsAndApples

3. dpaanlka macrumors 601

dpaanlka

4. Mr Skills thread starter macrumors 6502a

Mr Skills

Thanks.... but i originally wrote:

The very first instruction in the 101 guides:
    "To see all the goodies on your Mac, double-click the hard disk icon. Note: An icon is a small graphical representation of an item such as a file, folder, application, CD, or drive. This opens a Finder window, which allows you to visually see the hierarchy of your computer's contents."

My parents would already be completely confused by this stage!

They can click the "firefox" button and manage very basic web surfing as long as it is in one window which stays "maximised", but overlapping, resizable windows and the like just do not compute in their brains.

5. emptyCup macrumors 65816

emptyCup

If your parents have Applecare have them call phone support. They love simple questions and my mother loves that they are always happy to walk her through any problem she has.

6. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

Jasonbot