Is there a free version of CCC for Mountain Lion?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 2012Tony2012, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #1
    I upgraded from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion, but now the free version of Carbon Copy Cloner complains it won't run and that I need to upgrade...however the new version is not freeware it seems?

    Anyone know if it's possible to run CCC on Mountail Lion using the FREEWARE version?
     
  2. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #3
    there is not a version of CCC but you can use super duper, it has also a nicer interface and no nasty ads.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #4
    Actually, as far as I remember the older versions of CCC do run under Mountain Lion, only warn you against it. I believe the point is it doesn't properly work with the recovery partition.
    Luckily there are a few "create recovery partition" scripts floating around the web (Google it), so if my memory serves me correctly, it's OK to use CCC and then run a script after a reboot. Actually this is what I did with the last ad/freeware version of the CCC.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    You can still use the free 3.4.7 version with ML and it is fully functional, it just has not been tested by the developer. Read this post from the dev. for more info.
     
  6. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    You can use version 3.5.1 ($40) or 3.4.7 (free, and works well on OS X 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8). It just hasn't been tested on ML, but it works fine.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #7
    OK thanks, I will just ignore the warning message then :)

    When I bought and ran Mountain Lion from the App Store, it didn't create the rescue partition anyway it seems. How come?
     
  8. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    It certainly can, if you have the settings correct. See "Cloning Apple's Recovery HD partition" in the following link:

    Carbon Copy Cloner Documentation
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #9
  10. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Also, SuperDuper! will not clone the recovery partition.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #11
    How do I load and run the recovery partition to see if my ML upgrade did in fact create it?

    And does the free version and old version of CCC clone the recovery partition?
     
  12. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Hold down Command+R keys during boot to access the Recovery HD partition.
    Both versions work the same.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
    #13
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #14
  15. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    Many people do. Both work just the same.

    Carbon Copy Cloner's Transition to a Commercial Product: Frequently Asked Questions
    Did you read the whole message? It tells you what to do:

    gsduYsllE0JvoMB2RIUYhe9E4w2aeOaNkcgnqAZ_x6s.png
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #16
    Interesting, I opened CCC again, but this time it doesn't give me that option for rescue partition. So I just continue?
     
  17. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
  18. macrumors regular

    petsk

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #18
    Learn how to use Disk Utility or set up Time Machine instead of using CCC.
     
  19. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #19
    There's no need to do that, unless someone simply wants to use TM. Time Machine cannot create bootable clones of your drive like CCC can.
     
  20. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #20
    A Mountain Lion install will create a recovery partition. There is no way to stop it from creating one actually. Just type "diskutil list" without the quotes in Terminal and you should see the 650mb recovery hd partition.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #21
    I have been there and done that, I would never use TM ever again! I love CCC:)

    ----------

    By the way GGJstudios, in ML, it doesn't seem to work to follow the steps to uninstall apps. How do I do it on ML?
     
  22. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #22
    This should work with any OS X version, including ML.
    If you're having problems, explain what's happening.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    petsk

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #23
    If you are looking for a 100% clone copy then Disk Utility is the (only) way to go. CCC cannot perform a perfect clone and neither can any other third party app. At least not as long as they are running in userland because files will be locked while OS X is booted. You can run Disk Utility without booting into OS X.
     
  24. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #24
    For anything short of forensic level cloning, CCC clones work perfectly fine and don't require rebooting. That makes it far more usable for regular backup purposes, and will more than satisfy all but a very few users.
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #25

Share This Page