Is there a simple way to use only an external display?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by pickaxe, Jul 3, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #1
    After a lot of Googling it seems there is no native way to disable the MBA's display and make an external attached display primary (why?)

    I've seen some hacky solutions around, but they don't seem to work on my 2013 MBA. I suspect this is because sleeping the display on this unit also sleeps the OS (again, why?)

    So any simple way to do this?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    #2
    can't you just turn the brightness down?

    are you using external keyboard/mouse?
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
  4. macrumors 6502

    jmoore5196

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Clamshell mode is about as simple as it gets. As I type this post, my 11" MBA is closed and tucked into a TwelveSouth BookArc.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #5
    Clamshell is not a good solution because I like the keyboard and trackpad, because I don't want to clutter my work desk with external input devices and because of heat concerns.

    Turning off the backlight is not a good solution because I'm still in dual display mode - with screen boundaries and other crap like that.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    jmoore5196

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #6
    So let me see if I understand this ... you want to use the keyboard and trackpad, but not the display which is something like three inches away?

    While I admire your unwillingness to compromise, wireless keyboards and trackpads are very handy things to have around.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #7
    Although not ideal, I think clamshell with an external Apple keyboard and Magic Trackpad is as close as you can get to what you want.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    At work I use my MBA in clamshell with a 27" ACD. At home, I use the same MBA with my 27" ATD. It works perfectly with both. For each desk setup... I have a BT Kbd, BT Magic Trackpad and a BT Magic Mouse. Works perfectly.

    I get the full 2560X1440 on both desks.

    /Jim
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    Nottingham, England
    #9
    I think it's fine to want to work on an external display but not have the computer in clamshell mode.

    You could do this in pre-Lion OS X versions! It's one thing I didn't like they took away.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #10
    Umm, yes? I don't want to buy a wireless keyboard/trackpad when I already have perfectly good ones attached to my MacBook. As for not wanting to use the internal display - obviously it's because of the size and resolution. I've been using Windows laptops in "half-open lid, screen off" mode for years and it's very usable.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #11
    With my MBA 13 inch 2013 closed I plug in my 30 inch display to the Display Port and USB. Click the keyboard or mouse that are attached to the display and the Mac wakes, never switches on the external display and the external monitor is the primary display.

    I've done this forever with all my Mac laptops without any problems, ever.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #12
    That's not what the OP wants. He wants the internal display to turn off without having to close the lid.

    OP, I don't think there's a non-wacky solution. Sorry.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    jmoore5196

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Parsimony may have served you well as a Windows user, but it's not a particularly Mac-friendly quality. Elegant solutions typically come with a price tag attached; solutions that "just work" command something of a premium.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Pakaku

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #14
    Something like... plugging in the external screen, opening up System Prefs, selecting Displays, choosing Arrangement, dragging that little white bar over to the external screen, and turning off the brightness of the internal screen. That treats the external screen as the primary screen, although the internal screen won't be disabled. Will that not work for you?
     
  15. macrumors regular

    luisito

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #15
    If you are working with dual screens, why is it important to have your main display on the external display? You are looking at both screens anyways, right?
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #16
    Is it really true that you cannot shutdown MBA's screen while external screen is plugged without closing the lid? In Windows it's terribly easy, just Win+P.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #17
    bump
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #18
    You asked a question that has already been answered... and then you bumped. it. No... it does not work without any non-whacky solutions (paraphrasing the best answer).

    /Jim
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #19
    OP, you can do this with SwitchResX.

    I do what you want when I'm streaming HD movies through a flash site (netflix, showtime, HBO, hulu, etc.) from my computer but want to watch it on the big external display and don't want to melt my MBA with the lid closed.

    Although I do use an external keyboard and mouse, SwitchResX allows me to disable my MBA screen when it is connected to an external display and not in clamshell mode.

    http://www.madrau.com/indexSRX4.html
     
  20. Ollifi, Jul 4, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #20
  21. macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    It's shareware; it asks you nicely to donate/purchase it but you can use it forever without paying.
     
  22. Ollifi, Jul 4, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #22
    ok, thanks for details.

    From FAQ:
    "When a display is disabled by SwitchResX, the system continues to power it on. There's no way to disable this power from the display, so the backlight will be still turned on, most of the times. SwitchResX will try to turn the brightness to minimal for the displays that include this function, but some displays will still show a powered on background."
    So it will actually just dim the screen, not turn off :(

    I cannot understand why it is so hard in Mac. In Windows, it is so simple.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #23
    I had the same issue...the MBA keyboard is simply better than any exterrnal keyboard (I think the palmrest helps!). Here is my solution:

    I do everything that you do to get the MBA working in clamshell mode.

    Then (this is the important bit) I *open* the lid of the MBA, and the MBA display is off, whilst the external display is still on. I believe you have to be plugged into the mains for this to work.

    This lets me use the MBA keyboard and trackpad. The only issue is, you may have to raise your external display to see it over the MBA display.

    Cheers!
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #24
    That's quite strange.

    From Apple support:
    but
    Are you using Mac OS X v10.6.8 or earlier ?
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #25
    Yes, using OS X 10.6.8...

    It never would have occurred to me that they would have changed that behavior. Oh well, for those on 10.7 & 10.8--> it's not a bug, it's a feature!
     

Share This Page