is there a vnc server that does work with Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by oililymad, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    oililymad

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    and doesn't cost the earth, I only need a basic one.
    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    Other than the built in free one?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    oililymad

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    i cant find an app that works from Ipad or anything else, that will connect to Imac.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    That would be a VNC client.
    I use screens or logmein ignition both work fine for me in Lion. Not free but cheap enough for my use.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Open System Preference and go to the Sharing pref pane. Check "Screen Sharing" and click "Computer Settings...". Check the "VNC viewers may connect..." box and give it a password. Then click Ok and close System Preferences. On the iPad connect via VNC and give it the password to put in the "VNC viewers may connect..." box.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #6
    RealVNC works on Lion, and Windows. For the iPad to be able to connect to the machine you need to disable encryption on the Server side.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    Turn on Screen Sharing under Preferences -> Sharing on your iMac.

    Get Remoter from the iTunes App Store for 99c.

    Marvell at you ability to control the screen of your iMac on your iPad.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    #8
    I like it, but same as my other vnc-er, it consistently gets the position of mouse clicks wrong when I have two screens plugged into the 2010 mini.
    It works fine when I unplug one monitor.
    I didn't have this trouble under Snow Leopard. :mad:
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    #9
    Remoter website claims this is a problem with Apple's implementation of vnc. Suggests arranging second display to the right of display one.
    That works, as does arranging second display below first display.

    When positioned to the left, or above the first screen, vnc mouse clicks are persistently offset by the width or height of screen 2. Unplugging the second monitor fixes the problem.
     
  10. macrumors 604

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #10
    I use Mocha VNC Lite (I don't need it often) and it logs in and shows the screen but nothing is clickable. Something definitely changed with Lion's VNC as it worked perfectly with Snow Leopard.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    #11
    Both 'Remoter' and 'Desktop' vnc servers for iPad have been updated, and now place the cursor, and mouse-clicks in the right locations on my dual-monitor Mac.
     

Share This Page