Is there a way? (software update)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by psychofreak, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I know it is unlikely but is there a way to add apps to the list of those that software update checks for updates for. I would love an all-in-one updater for apple apps, skype, firefox, adium, and all my other favorites.
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    No...Software Update only connects directly to Apple's servers, so third-party apps can't use it. Apple is obviously very protective about its protected systems for deploying trusted updates. Allowing other companies to have access to that system (even if each update had to be approved by Apple) opens the door to significant security breaches.

    While it would be nice to expand things, it's understandable why it's limited to Apple apps.
     
  3. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Thanks...is there a 3rd party app that checks for updates for others?
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I was under the impression that one of the VersionTracker types of sites sells a service that installs a Software Update type of application onto your computer and manages updates of all the software that's listed in their registry. But now I'm blanking on which one it is. :(

    EDIT: Here it is -- it is VersionTracker. It's called VersionTracker Pro. Unfortunately it's somewhat unreasonably priced... $50/yr! :eek: :rolleyes:
     
  5. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #5
    The three apps you mentioned: adium, skype and firefox all have the ability to check for updates automatically. In adium, select check for updates, then check the little box where it asks if you want to check automatically. In skype its on the general preferences pane. I think firefox does it automatically whether you want it to or not (since I can't find where you would turn it on/off). Hope that helps a little.

    I wish this was an option on all software, though I can see reasons why a small developer wouldn't add it right away as a feature.
     
  6. semaja2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    #6
    Actually its normally the smaller developers that include Sparkle (the update systems in Adium etc)

    It takes a few clicks to set it into your program
     
  7. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #7
    Good to know...then the bigger developers have no excuse. :D
     
  8. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Dragging this up a bit, but I found an app that does exactly this :)
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Anyone tried using this? Sounds interesting!
     
  10. Objectivist-C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    #10
    There's also AppFresh and the AppUpdate widget.
     
  11. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Yes, not only does it work, but its worth downloading just for the beautiful UI...really well made :)
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    So the fact that it uses a French server doesn't seem to cause you any problems, does it?
     
  13. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    No...I am in the UK, but have no idea how it would affect US users...
     
  14. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #14
    I'm giving it a try... the Leopard-style focusless / contextless / whatever window is a little odd, and it can be quirky at times, but it does seem very nice. Impressive that it figures out updatable software on your computer essentially without even having to be taught!
     

Share This Page