Is there a way to disable spaces?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by secretpact, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #1
    I'm thinking of buying leopard. I'm running Tiger right now. I don't need spaces cause I will never use it. Is there a way to disable it?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    When you buy Leopard spaces is disabled ( not turned on ) by default.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
    #3
    Yes. In System Preferences>Exposé & Spaces>Spaces, there is an "Enable Spaces" checkbox.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    Never say never. Once you use spaces you can't seem to figure out a computer without multiple desktops.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #5
    Haha well, I'll see about that.


    Thanks everyone!
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #6
    What sort of things do people use Spaces for? Te be honest, i've never quite understood the functional point of multiple desktops? Is it simply for users with small screens?
     
  7. macrumors G5

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #7
    It is very valuable say on a MacBook - doing two completely different sets of tasks at the same time. But the same is true even if you do have say two large monitors.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #8
    I use it for grouping my apps. My IM clients are in Space 1, Mail and Firefox in #2, the rest (depending on what I'm doing) is equally shared between #3 and 4.
    It's really good to keep the screen organized and uncluttered :)
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I thought I would never use it because I have 2 20" monitors.

    Now I use 4 spaces and cant see how I would work without it.

    Top space is for safari and iChat.

    2nd is for pages.

    3rd is mail on one screen and iTunes on the other.

    4th is a bunch of random stuff that I do not us that much.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #10
    I cannot LIVE without spaces, Spaces, Stacks, and Time Machine, the main feature of Leopard, are my favorite actually. I use each and every single one of them. I can't LIVE without spaces. and yes, i do have a 24"er here, but god, i have 6 spaces setup, and use em all, but use 3 or 4 usually, but on the weekends, i use all 6 :D
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    If i have 4 open spaces but im only using 2. Does the left over 2 take up much RAM ?
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    newappleboy

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #12
    I really need to start using spaces more. Honestly, it's the main feature that got me to switch from PC to Mac when Leopard came out. I put Parallels full screen in space 2 and iTunes in space 3. 1 is for everything else and I have yet to use space 4. lol I do all this on my shiny new MBP. It's not so much to save screen real estate as it is about being organized. I never need to worry about finding iTunes or battling other apps to get to it - ctrl + 3 and I'm there. Bravo :apple:.
     

Share This Page