Is there a way to normalize pasted text in MS Word?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ero87, Dec 8, 2006.

  1. ero87 macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    Hey,

    I often paste text from a website or PDF into a Word document. However, it's annoying to deal with the melange of fonts that result.

    Is there a way to make it so that all text, when pasted into Word, is converted into the same font & size as the current document? Or to a certain standard (e.g. Times New Roman, font 12)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Yes Edit-> Paste special -> Unformatted text
     
  3. ero87 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    sweet! Thanks so much!

    anyway of making that the standard command-v? Or giving it some kind of shortcut?
     
  4. d wade macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #4
    it already has a built in one

    click the little box that pops up and select 'keep text only'

    it pops up every time you paste something from outside Word
     
  5. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    A keyboard shortcut would be better (you can do this with Pages - shift+option+apple+V).

    Wonder if you you could try creating a shortcut using system pref> keyboard & mouse > Keyboard shortcuts (add Word to Application Keyboard Shortcuts) ?

    edit:
    ahh, I think because Paste Special... comes up as a dialogue box, it can't be done...
     
  6. jmre5150 macrumors member

    jmre5150

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Levittown, PA
    #6

    Nothing pops up for me...I click edit.Paste Special and then select "Unformatted Text" from my choice of that and "Styled Text". Nothing gives me the choice of "Keep Text Only" and I merely click "OK'. Next time I go to paste something, I go through the whole process again without anything popping up. It's annoying.
     

Share This Page