Is there a way to reformat a Power PC G4 without the install disk?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by rainman89, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    I purchase a used Power PC G4 laptop from my son's freshman roomate. That was about 4 years ago. I have the passwords and I'd like to install some new software, but they require I upgrade to Leopard, I'm currently running Tiger. However, I found out that to upgrade to Leopard, I need the original install disk, which he never gave me. I wasn't very computer savvy, so I didn't know to ask for them.

    I know the kid's name and state, but I guess he's still listed under his parent's name, so the phone directory is no help. The school is not allowed to give me his contact info.

    So, I went to an authorized apple repair facility, they want $150 to do it, plus they won't install the Leopard OS I just bought, they said I had to buy a new Leopard OS from them, but because I broke the seal on my set, I can't return it. Before I spend that kind of money, is there a way I can just reformat the HD and install Leopard myself? (Snow Leopard isn't compatible with my Power PC)

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #2
    Well if you bought the CDs. And the guy did say it Ran Leopard on it. I would Get a Double Layer Blank DVD. Get a Copy of Leopard from a Pirate (Wink Wink) Burn the DVD image to a double Layer DVD and install. Because if you have the CDs/Own 1 or more Copys of Leopard you are ALLOWED by the copyright agreement to install it on any Apple Computer you want. Remember a Copy per License you got. (Per Leopard installs/CD you have). SO get your Copy and install :D
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #3
    One question

    Thanks for the advice. But one question, do I have to install the Tiger OS first and then upgrade to Leopard using the Leopard OS disks I bought? Or do I only install the Leopard OS per your instuctions?

    Thanks again for your help!
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    The easiest method would be from a partition on a firewire drive, it's faster and doesn't require burning a dual-layered DVD (which are overpriced, and many burners are single-layer only).

    EDIT: I don't know about Leopard Upgrade discs. I wasn't aware there were any...
     
  5. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    If it is an Upgrade disk, you need to install Tiger first.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    This, but i didn't tried. It seems that Leo Upgrade discs were for Intel Macs only.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    #7
    Does your computer meet the system requirements for Leopard?
    (867 MHz, 512M ram, dvd drive)

    Is your Leopard DVD the retail version (black with a purple swirl in the middle)?

    If yes then you can just install it. First make a backup copy of your data. Then put the DVD in and restart while holding down the C key, and follow the instructions.

    I don't know why they were going to charge $150 for that.
     

Share This Page