Is there Any Good Web Browser??

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by msharp, Jul 16, 2004.

1. msharp macrumors regular

msharp

I'm a web designer, and i really wanna get rid of my PC, but there is one problem.

the pages i made before looked ugly in Safari, and also in IE 5 in OS X. that makes me impossible to work under OS X. Is there ANY web browser under OS X can browse pages as it is in Windows IE5 or 6(sorry i have to mention m$ windows)???? or i really can work using mac......

2. zakee00 macrumors regular

zakee00

um...theres netscape, mozilla, opra, firefox,...im sure you can work in osx ;) safari looks great to me, good feature set too

3. zim macrumors 65816

zim

Try one of the Mozilla browsers, Firefox has been in the spot light recently.

Just curios, how are you encoding your pages? Could it be that you have been building for IE 5+ on windows specifically? IE has had, even though one of the first to adapt to standards, a long history of not being compliant with current day css and gives many designers/developers headaches, myself included.

I would recommend that if you are designing for the web that you should just download all of the browsers and do cross checks with every page you build.

Some of the majors are (I do cross checks in the following, no special order or preference (Firefox and Safari are my preferred browsers fore everyday use)):
    Firefox
    Safari
    Camino
    Mozilla
    Opera
    OmniWeb
    Netscape
    Internet Explorer

I would also recommend hanging on to that PC for cross platform checking, that is if you are serious about web development.

4. Jalexster macrumors 6502a

5. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

Horrortaxi