Is there any real reason for having a maximum of 2gb ram in a macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nitromaster, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. Nitromaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #1
    Would the macbook cost a lot more or something if it supported 4gb ram?
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It also allows for another reason to go for the MBP, if you are willing to spend that much, apple expect you to want a good graphics card etc. This is one reason that some people want a 12" MBP...
     
  3. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #3
    Integrated Graphics.
     
  4. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #4
    Huh?

    It is just another case of Apple's crippleitis that's all. Selling crippled products to whore and upsell their higher range models.
     
  5. smueboy macrumors 6502a

    smueboy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Oz
    #5
    The Chipset is limited to 3GB, but i am not sure why Apple states that the Macbook takes a maximum of 2GB RAM (as opposed to the MBP which can take 3GB).


    Someone on this forum seems to have successfully used 3GB in a Macbook:

    http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve...31/m/561003592831?r=339004303831#339004303831


    When he puts 4GB in, only 3GB are available for use (scroll down in the forum to see pics of the activity monitor).

    So if you have a spare 2GB chip lying around, try it!! :)

    .
     
  6. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #6
    And what other computer company doesn't do that...?
     
  7. valdore macrumors 65816

    valdore

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri. USA
    #7
    Bad for customers...good for stockholders. (i'm both :D )
     
  8. acoustics940 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    #8
    Maybe because they designed it like that? They have to fit all kinds of **** in such a tiny area I dont see why people expect geforce 8800's and 6gb of ram and a 400 gb harddrive in a laptop as big as a book.:confused:
     
  9. paintballer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Utah
    #9
    Well you could have 3-4GB's in the same space as 2GB's.
     
  10. acoustics940 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    #10
    I want to see all this mass majority of people who NEED 4gb of ram and 500 gb hardrives in there laptop. If you need that much **** you might as well buy a $4000 dollar laptop most people use the internet and do simple tasks I have never seen a problem with not having 3-4gb for this.
     
  11. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #11
    I agree, it's pretty sad that people want to spend less on their computer than they would on FCP. Assuming that that's what they want to use it for...
     
  12. paintballer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Utah
    #12
    Calm down. Why are you so pissed off about this? No most people don't need that much memory but if you use ALOT of proffesional apps that use a lot of memory it can be nice to have. And they could buy a $4000 laptop but since Apple doesn't make one and Windows sucks its not a very good option.
     
  13. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #13
    Looks pretty close to me
    [​IMG]
     
  14. paintballer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Utah
    #14
    Thats not really much better than just a MacBook. The only difference is the graphics card, faster processor, and larger screen. Also many people don't want to carry around a big ass computer and prefer the smaller MacBook over the Pro. Also $350 of that is just the extended warranty.
     
  15. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #15
    Take a look at the Apple Store. How much does it cost to replace a 1GB chip with a 2GB chip for the MacBook Pro? How much would a MacBook with 4GB cost?

    (And if you would read a bit more, then you would know that Intel doesn't have mobile chipsets ready yet that support > 4GB of RAM; the current chipsets allow at most around 3.5 GB. Some companies, like Dell, let you put 4GB worth of RAM in a laptop, but you cannot use most of the fourth GB).
     

Share This Page