Is there any specific monitor needed for Powermac G4?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by iMacBoy, Jan 22, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #1
    I have seen some bargains on ebay for the powermacs, and was just wondering if there was any kind if monitor i would need before i invest?

    I have a old monitor in my house but i'm not sure what adapters etc it would need to have.

    Thanks.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    No, but inform yourself what video output the GPU has, DVI, VGA or ADC (Apple Display Connector) before you make the purchase, as your need an adapter for ADC.
    Apple and Monoprice offer them AFAIK.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #3
    Most of the PowerMacs (that I have seen anyway) have two connectors, one ADC and one VGA. Until a certain point when they switched to DVI, I'm not sure at what point that is, but the only Macs I have ever seen that where ADC only was my old Performa, and other small form factor desktops like that. Otherwise, like the above said, the adapters are readily available. Good luck!


    -John
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Your performa isnt ADC, it is a larger form of VGA called DB-15, which was phased out with the Beige G3 in 1998. From then on VGA was the standard on B&W G3s and Early G4s. ADC started shipping in 2001 and stopped shipping in 2004(possibly '05, but Im pretty sure '04) with PowerMac G5s.

    A good set of rules is as follows:
    PowerMac G4s below 466Mhz and 500Mhz models shipped with a card with DVI-D and VGA.
    PowerMac G4s above 466Mhz excl. 500Mhz machines shipped with a card with ADC and VGA or in the very last G4s (Dual 867Mhz, 1Ghz, 1.25Ghz and Dual 1.42Ghz models), a card with DVI (normal DVI) and ADC. The only machine that doesnt quite follow this is a specialised G4 QuickSilver which could have an option for a card with 1DVI and 1 ADC.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    For G5s it really depends on the machine, as even if its before the phase-out of ADC in 2005, it depends if the machine had an upgrade. (There was even a ADC option on the Early 2005 G5, however with the Late 2005 G5 it was gone).
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #7
    I love ADC, takes away all the cable clutters...
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #8
    I stand corrected. Nevermind then, ha!
     

Share This Page